06
May
10

Beggars Banquet Foray

Dear Readers,

You know how, at a certain age, you think you’ve pretty much heard all the interesting things you could possibly know about the place you grew up. Plus the smaller the town the younger you are when you’ve heard it all, because the less there is find out. We moved from London to a small town near Nottingham when I was a child. A verysmall town, and I think I had barely reached my teens before I thought I had heard all there was to hear about Castle Donington.

However last week I was chatting to my Mum and her bother about music in the 60’s and how they had both seen the Rolling Stones live in concert. (As well as an unbelievable amount of other bands, of course). Then came the revelation that not 5km from the house I grew up in was a beautiful country folly where this photograph was taken…

I grabbed my camera, a vintage 60’s dress and drove over there. The band photographs were used on promo posters for their 11th studio album, Beggars Banquet.

Since the ‘Stones left the building has been renovated and it looks as though someone mows the grass now too. I never really get very nostalgic, but walking through the gateway at Swarkestone Pavillion, I imagined it was a portal back to 1968, and that when I got through the other side I would find Mick Jagger, Brian Jones and Keith Richards sprawled on the grass.


Rolling Stones Pictures via: www.iorr.org.

One photograph from the shoot was also used on the back cover of the album Hot Rocks, 1964-71.

More photographs and outfit details at HerApparel.wordpress.com

Xx


11 Responses to “Beggars Banquet Foray”


  1. May 6, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    That is so freaking cool!!! I never knew that either… Wow, love your take on it!

  2. May 6, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    wow- how kool is that!!

  3. May 7, 2010 at 9:32 am

    That is soo cool!! Love the skirt!

  4. May 7, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    That’s pretty amazing! What a great piece of rock and roll history.

  5. May 8, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    What a lovely snippet of history, and of course you look amazing:)!! x

  6. May 10, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    Ah this is such a cool idea, darling!!!

  7. May 11, 2010 at 7:47 am

    Whisty McFisty how I love you so x

  8. 9 dvorak
    December 29, 2011 at 10:02 am

    Swarkestone Pavilion now belongs to the Landmark Trust and you can rent it out. It has one double bed, a bathroom and kitchen. I’m off to stay there next week!


Let us know what you think in the box below!


Who Was Here?

  • 2,473,091 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,411 other subscribers
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest
May 2010
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

Latest Visitors