10
Jan
11

Current Musings – A good start to 2011

OR: First week back to reality… 7 things that kept me sane over the last 7 days!

– Without which I could easily have drowned in a blue-mood lagoon.

  1. Movies at the IFI. I watched and loved Catfish, and I EDIT: intend to watch and love also watched and loved The Kings Speech. If not just to drool over the wardrobe of (the magnificent) Helena Bonham-Carter, as the Queen mum in her youth.

2. Vintage Window-Shopping: Dublin is becoming a feast of vintage shopping. I inadvertently discovered two new shops – 9 Crow Street and Horse & June – this week. (More on these later in the week)

3. New Music: Both British Sea Power and White Lies have new albums out this month. The anticipation of which has me all of a dither.

4. New Shoe Style: Platform, suede, colour block – Because of dreams of shoes like this; I’m saving up now. (Asos.com)

5. New season Fashion: The previews are go. I’m thinking floral embroidery detailing, and 70’s, Riviera chic – just get me out of black. – See Christopher Kane (below left) and Marc Jacobs (below right), respectively. (images via style.com)

6. Food: Bad, bad, bad but oh-so-good food at that: Mooz, 3 Angier Street, D2. Pick your favourite chocolate bar and they’ll blend it into a milk-shake… they do hot ones too, if the weather’s doing your head in.

7. Prudence Magazine: Included musings from yours truly in their vintage directory this month. I am honoured, and just a little proud to be included!

Transcription:

“Fashion blogger Laura Whiston of Whisty feels the same: “Being fashionable is one thing but turning up to a party in the same high-street dress as three of your friends really will make you feel like a fashion victim” she says.

“The great thing about vintage is the history behind it. When I put on a dress or coat that was made 60 years ago, I immediately wonder about the woman who owned it before me.”

…”From a moral point of view it’s [vintage] very appealing because people are genuinely horrified by reports of sweat-shop working conditions. Many fast-fashion, high-street shops have been the subject of revealing documentaries exposing child labour and poor pay.”

Here’s to a fantastic 2011!

Yours,

Whisty Xx


7 Responses to “Current Musings – A good start to 2011”


  1. 1 Jules
    January 10, 2011 at 10:03 am

    great post – and I’m so up for the 70s fashions this year – fingers crossed that I find some vintage 70s finds! x

  2. January 10, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    Welcome Back! Mooz lights up our life too! x

  3. 3 ed
    January 10, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    So glad your back happy new year !!

  4. January 11, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    You had me at Helena, I must properly check out White Lies x

  5. January 11, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    ‘platform, suede, colour block’… Stop, you’re killing me! *drools* Glad you have you back Whisty.

  6. January 11, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Welcome Back:)! I love when all the new collection reviews start coming out:)!
    Oh my god Cork has a milkshake place like that too, ask if they do ferrero rocher ones… Heaven:)!! x


Let us know what you think in the box below!


Who Was Here?

  • 2,473,146 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,411 other subscribers
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest
January 2011
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

Latest Visitors