26
Mar
12

Whisty Guest Editor and Fashion Feature on whatshewears.ie

Hi All!

I was asked to guest edit and write a fashion feature for Irish fashion website, WhatSheWears.ie.
I really like the site and was delighted to feature as guest editor, joining such fashion leaders as Corina Gaffey from Stellar magazine, blogger and stylist Anne Marie O’Connor and Sarah Rickard from Irish Tatler. Inspirational woman all.

So here is what I had to say:

Favourite Spring/Summer 2012 designer collection

Alexander McQueen’s S/S12 collection was breathtaking, looking at coverage of the Paris show, every piece Sarah Burton sent down the catwalk looked like it was sculpted out of coral or alabaster and tipped with gold leaf. Even the oil-slick-black gowns looked delicate and fragile. It is a stunning collection, I love when the art of fashion is so overtly expressed.

Spring/Summer trend and how you’ll be wearing it

I am head over heels with the return of the peplum. Jason Wu and Vera Wang’s S/S’12 versions are wearable and easily translatable. While Alexander McQueen and Givenchy’s are exquisite and showy, I like how the peplum has returned in different ways; the traditional version as a second layer over a skirt; on the bottom of jackets to soften sharp, fitted suits; then worn over trousers and shirts as well as skirts.

If I could wear it anyway it would be with black netting as part of a pretty floral summer dress by Nina Ricci (pictured). Peplum perfection!

Highstreet Shop

I rarely shop on the High Street; I find the idea of buying cheaply made overpriced ‘on-trend’ pieces in manmade fibre, wholly distasteful during such tough economic times. I much prefer to shop at vintage fairs and flea markets.

I also shop online through ASOS, its Marketplace; (marketplace.asos.com) is a great way to buy good quality clothes at reasonable prices. I also sell on there too on Once Removed Vintage.

Favourite Shop in Dublin

I’m afraid my favourite Dublin shop is no great revelation; Brown Thomas is without a shadow of doubt a heavenly place to be if you like anything to do with fashion. From jewellery, to perfumes, shoes to designer gowns, on every floor you’re surrounded by beautiful things and it actually makes you feel special. The staff are great, the décor is chic and the whole experience is joyful. (Made only that little bit better when you have enough in your purse to actually buy anything!).

Make-up look

Eyebrows. I’m obsessed with them at the moment; I recently had an eyebrow lesson from a consultant at Benefit Cosmetics. She showed me how to use their Brow Zings shaping kit properly, among other things. When I look back at photographs of myself when I was at university I had really thin brows, (I actually look like I’ve attacked my eyebrows with a disposable razor) I can’t believe the difference that now having a good pair of defining brows makes.

Go-to piece in your wardrobe

Maxi dresses are my staple pieces; they’re as suited for formal events as they are for balmy summer evenings. I have a beautiful black, silk chiffon one with tiny shoestring straps that I wear for anything glamorous, and a number of cheap, brightly coloured ones that are great to throw on with flats for casual summer days.

Best bargain

A turquoise and pink bouclé tweed Chanel suit that I found in a dreadful state at a vintage kilo sale (yes, it honestly does happen). It weighed 1.05kg, and at 1kg=€20 it cost me €21. I sent it to the dry cleaners (twice in the case of the skirt), and afterwards removed all remaining marks with wool-carpet cleaner. It’s damn near perfect now.

Most Prized Pair of Shoes

All shoes make me happy, but heels even more so. I like the way they look and I like the way they make you feel. They take a lot more effort to wear than flats, but the rewards from wearing them are worth it. Brand wise I think Kurt Geiger (pictured) manage to achieve the right balance between style, price and quality. They also do great classic pairs that last for years. I have a pair of black suede knee-high boots that I bought four winters ago that I’ve looked after so well they’re still going to be wearable in two winters time.

Signature Perfume

During the daytime I wear Jo Malone, normally it’s the fresh and citrusy ‘English Pear and Freesia’ but I also adore ‘Wild Bluebell’. At night time I wear Coco Chanel. It’s such a heady, sensual scent and is as perfect for evening as a silk ball gown.

Top style tip

Even if you don’t think it’s going to suit you, your body shape or your skin tone, try anything and everything. If you don’t try everything, then you’ll never know what definitely does look bad and what looks great on you.

***********

 Read the full article here, and if you haven’t discovered the joy of reading What She Wears, try it out!

Yours,

Whisty Xx

4 Responses to “Whisty Guest Editor and Fashion Feature on whatshewears.ie”


  1. March 26, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    Great post, very inspiring !
    And Finally I found someone who’s obsessed with eyebows as much as I am 🙂

  2. March 28, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    Thanks Margaret!
    Glad to know I’m no the only eyebrow fiend out there!
    There is nothing worse than a dodgy brow! 🙂
    Xx

  3. April 14, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    Great feature! Can’t believe you got a tweed chanel suit at a Kilo sale!!

    xx Ais


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,419,607 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

This place in #whitehall reminds me of a German #castle
.
.
.
#architecture#historic#london#centrallondon#westminster#whitehallgardens#victoriaembankment If the beautiful #architecture at #stmartininthefields isn't enough add a 2000 white #paperdoves #art #installation
.
.
.
#trafalgarsquare #centrallondon #church #michaelpendry#whitesdoves#artinstallation#lescolombes#history#peace#artforpeace #thamesside strolls on warm #summerevenings give good #views .
.
.
#architecture#london🇬🇧#riverthames#towerbridge#history#reflections#sunset#clouds#skies#walkways#bermondseystreet#southlondon#londonbridge #jerkalert This is what you want on a #Sunday a #graffiti #truffleshuffle #chunk from #thegoonies .
.
.
#80s#streetart#movie#gooniesneversaydie#oneeyedwillie#jxc#london#camden#northlondon Dear #car fairy, may I please have a #hotpink #mini?
.
.
.
#vintage#car#minicooper#pink#alloys#britannia#retro#austinmini#gt First time on a #borisbike and hitting the #touristtrail in #London today. .
.
.
#wellingtonarch#hydepark#wellington#centrallondon#britannia#historic#architecture#archway#buckinghampalace#historic We're attempting to add culture to our boozy do. #dublin #ireland🇮🇪 #travelling .
.
.
#baileáthecliath #90s #reflection #art #architecture #university Wishing I could jump in this #fountain today #heatwave .
.
.
#countryhouse #hertfordshire #hatfield #architecture #nature #blueskies #clouds #england #pond #reflection #windows #historic #elizabethi  #palace #queen
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

