28
Feb
11

Burlesque Legs and Stripey tights

Hey All,

There are certain elements of fashion that I always associate with particular styles and subcultures. Elements that I just can’t see myself really wearing. One of those things is stripey tights; they make me think of Punky / Goth / Emo girls who wear them with Doc Martens. Those are genres that I have never really seen as an influence on my own style. I was always more about grunge than anything else when it comes to ‘alternative’ fashion.

That was until fellow blogger, Hermia changed her blog-site. She’s included a photograph in her banner from a shoot by Guy Aroch for Nylon Magazine (issue April 2008). It’s of Clémence Poésy in pair of black and white stripey tights. Ever since I saw it, my opinion on striped tights has become less focused on the alternative.

This is the photo Hermia has,

This is from the same shoot…

Then I saw the new Jonathan Aston range, inspired by burlesque on TightsPlease.co.uk.

This cartoon is part of the promo imagery.

I waited ages, until my last pair of fishnets became so holey, they’d be considered dolphin friendly. I ordered a pair of back-seam midinet hold-ups and… yep! Stripey tights. (Well actually they’re called Ringers over-knee socks but made of really thick denier nylon, and besides they go quite high up the auld leg.)

I also chose stripey over-knees because I didn’t want to buy a cheap pair and have them not be properly white when I put them on. Or have them be so tight around my leg that hold-up band gives me thigh-muffin top. (These do neither; always a bonus…)

Can’t wait to do a style post, now where to get those yellow courts?

Yours,

Whisty Xx

 

 

 

14 Responses to “Burlesque Legs and Stripey tights”


  1. February 28, 2011 at 9:08 am

    I am a big fan of stripe tights and thigh highs, actually I like stripes in anything! Very cute shots of Clemence…

  2. February 28, 2011 at 10:54 am

    great photos, but I’m not a fan of stripey tights…. too goth for me!! xx

  3. February 28, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    Ooh la la….tres francais! 😉 I love the pics, looking foward to seeing them styled in an outfit post….I seen mustard court shoes in Zara a few weeks ago might be worth a wee look

  4. 4 sabrielle
    February 28, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Those are awesome, do they make legs look chunkier though? They look French and chic and not alternative at all.

  5. February 28, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    I would have had the same reservations about the striped tight but that Clémence pic is too good! And you will rock the socks (?!) off them too!
    xxx

  6. February 28, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    Cannot wait to see the results x

  7. February 28, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Can’t wait to see the style post!

    I am not sure if it is the muted colours on the photo shoot but it is a perfect shade of yellow! Any brighter and you would get a wasp effect but here they just look cool 🙂

  8. February 28, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    ooh, i always felt the same about ‘ringer’ tights but the yellow courts do seem to add something! you could definitley pull this off!

    xox

  9. 9 sabrielle
    February 28, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    These yellow shoes look the right colour, I think leather would be better than suede though

    http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/thing?id=29989026

    • March 1, 2011 at 2:05 pm

      But I quite like those suede ones, they’re a bit different. I would however be slightly concerned about how they would fair in the Irish weather…
      Hmmm

  10. March 1, 2011 at 12:12 am

    Im still laughing at your fishnets being dolphin friendly:):)!!!

  11. 13 Mary
    November 2, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    Did you ever find the yellow courts?


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,419,528 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

If the beautiful #architecture at #stmartininthefields isn't enough add a 2000 white #paperdoves #art #installation
.
.
.
#trafalgarsquare #centrallondon #church #michaelpendry#whitesdoves#artinstallation#lescolombes#history#peace#artforpeace #thamesside strolls on warm #summerevenings give good #views .
.
.
#architecture#london🇬🇧#riverthames#towerbridge#history#reflections#sunset#clouds#skies#walkways#bermondseystreet#southlondon#londonbridge #jerkalert This is what you want on a #Sunday a #graffiti #truffleshuffle #chunk from #thegoonies .
.
.
#80s#streetart#movie#gooniesneversaydie#oneeyedwillie#jxc#london#camden#northlondon Dear #car fairy, may I please have a #hotpink #mini?
.
.
.
#vintage#car#minicooper#pink#alloys#britannia#retro#austinmini#gt First time on a #borisbike and hitting the #touristtrail in #London today. .
.
.
#wellingtonarch#hydepark#wellington#centrallondon#britannia#historic#architecture#archway#buckinghampalace#historic We're attempting to add culture to our boozy do. #dublin #ireland🇮🇪 #travelling .
.
.
#baileáthecliath #90s #reflection #art #architecture #university Wishing I could jump in this #fountain today #heatwave .
.
.
#countryhouse #hertfordshire #hatfield #architecture #nature #blueskies #clouds #england #pond #reflection #windows #historic #elizabethi  #palace #queen #spotted in #Airlingus #cara #magazine by @hastings.laura @tomrg103... on their way to #cork... me in #boston ( 📸 @seanfay1981 )
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

