01
Feb
11

Oasis SS11 highlights

Hey All,

Hoorah! It’s February; the sales are officially over (be gone skanky sale rails) and all the shops are selling their new Spring / Summer ’11 wares. (See River Island SS11 highlights here).

Because vintage, clothing / style / everything when stratospheric last year, the high street seen to have hit back with hugely, vintage-inspired collections. And Oasis are no exception, calling their collections things like, Retro Knits, Clean 70’s, Roman Holiday (after the Hepburn movie) and Farrah (after Farrah Fawcett).

Here’s a few snaps…

‘Clean 70’s’

‘Feminine Neutrals’, left – ‘Farrah’, right

‘Farrah’

‘Retro Knits’, left – ‘Boho Chic’, right

‘Retro Knits’This look is in the campaign imagery, w/out the scarf and with fewer bangles, and it looks better really pared down. Baggy jumpers and shorts are doing it for me right now.

So because I can’t be in a room of clothes on rails and not try something on, I went for what in hindsight is a very typical Whisty choice. Though I was told I looked a bit bridal-y in it. But hey, I’d like to meet the kinda broad who’d wear a black hat to her wedding.

Anyway, I like it.

NB: The China Blue and Roman Holiday collections add a zip of colour to an otherwise very neutral / natural toned collection. Here’s a quick snap, not my bag, (far too clean-cut) but you may dig.

I’m taking me and my retro vocabulary off now…

Yours,

Whisty Xx

7 Responses to “Oasis SS11 highlights”


  1. February 1, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    Love the vintage inspired looks! All these pieces are actually really nice!x

  2. February 2, 2011 at 12:22 am

    Hi
    Sales are a nightmare!! I remember being part of a multi-shop chain and sale stock was brought in from manufacturers special for the big January sale and it was all rubbish. Then they brought in a law that an item could only be called a sale item if the merchandise was on the shop floor at higher price longer than 21 days.
    My site does not have a sale as I could not sell any lower than I do. 12 month sale!! I buy from well over 35 manufacturers direct with no wholesaler in between so I can offer excellent price structure every day at Trudyaffair. Plus I have free worldwide shipping.

    However I do have specials and sell off at cost price but this is not faulty stock but maybe discontinued stock from manufacturers.

    Thanks
    Trudy
    X

  3. February 2, 2011 at 9:16 am

    How I love the time when the shops get filled up with brand new spring stock! The photos actually look like they were taken in a vintage store 🙂

  4. 4 Jules
    February 2, 2011 at 9:17 am

    oh wow, oasis looks good for a change!! Used to love oasis when i was 15/16 but IMO it’s gone down a bit… but SS 2011 looks good! Might have to have a wee look in there the next time I’m near an oasis! (we used to have an oasis near me but it closed down due to the R word… damnit!) x

  5. February 2, 2011 at 10:52 am

    SO pure and pretty looking…

    I think we should live in the same city..and go to press days together x

  6. February 2, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    Ooooo I really want to check these out….but my bank balance has asked me not to…..although….

  7. February 7, 2011 at 1:10 am

    Yes I noticed vintage dresses in photos a lot last year, from the Golden Globes to the First Lady. It did seem to take off, so I’m interested to see if it continues this year too.


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,422,206 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

#autumnal days in my #granmother’s #mac, kicking up the #fallenleaves .
.
.
#autumn🍁#london#seasons#northlondon#streetstyle#vintage#heels#boots#blondehair#fashion#style#macintosh When you suddenly find yourself in the #1940s in #centrallondon - then you realise it's just a #filmset .
.
.
#1940sfashion#1940shair#WWII#redbus#architecture#themovies#film#makedoandmend#keepcalm#christopherrobin#onlocation#bankofengland#thecity#extras Just working out how to post a #panorama wish I was still #travelling around #croatia 🇭🇷 .
.
.
#vis#island#islandlife#backpacking#sea#beach#sunset#europe Outside inside #time. #lookingup at the #clocktower in #callypark .
.
.
#london#northlondon#openhouselondon2017#architecture#victorian#tower Inside #time. Even with a #fearofheights and #vertigo you still can't keep me from #climbing #towers. #faceyourfears #blackandwhitephotography
.
.
. 
#callypark#callyroad#caledonianroad#caledonianpark#london#northlondon#openhouselondon#clocktower#clockface Hop a speedboat to just off #remote #unspoiled #vis #island arrive at the #bluecave 🚤🏝⛰🇭🇷
.
.
.
#travelling#croatia#backpacking#europe#nature#sea#islandlife#boattrip Taking in the #view of the #island of #biševo from the island of #vis ❤️🇭🇷🌴🌊 .
.
.
#croatia#islandlife#travelling#backpacking#europe#adriaticsea#holiday#sea#rocks Yep. Deffo a #fortress. #hvartown.
Casually draped on a massive #cannon .
.
.
#croatia#travelling#view#ancient#fotress#archirecture#španijola#stinewall#backpacking#islandlife#sea#vis
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

