20
Dec
10

Style Post Intermission – Vintage Shopping

OR: Dandelion Daydreamer Vintage Pop-Up and Interview

Hey All,

In case your horribly bored of looking at my wardrobe, I thought I’d better post about some of the clothes that I wish I had in my wardrobe.

Imagine spending your summers by the beach, shopping in markets and boutiques in the South of France; hanging out with beautiful friends and your boyfriend; who happens to be a bit of a dab-hand, dans la cuisine. It may sound too good to be true but is the real-life of Sorcha Gillett, owner of Dandelion Daydreamer Vintage clothing and interviewee on Whisty.

Back from France for the winter and armed with her vintage collection, Sorcha invited me along to try her wares this weekend. We drank mulled wine, ate mince pies and chatted as I shopped…

Whisty: So you live in the South of France most of the year but have come back to Dublin for the winter? How Come?

Sorcha: I have lived there for 2 years now; about 2 hours south of Bordeaux on the coast in a surfer’s paradise. It is a seasonal lifestyle so while it is quiet there in the winter I have chosen to return home to launch Dandelion Daydreamer Vintage in Ireland; also to enjoy living the city life for a little while!

Whisty: Where do you get all your pieces? Can you give us any insider tips on how / where to hunt for vintage bargains?

Sorcha: When I’m in France I travel the country to markets, and as my French has improved, private vintage sellers. For anybody who is visiting France – Paris in particular – look for “friperies“. These French vintage shops selections can vary but generally treasures can be found. When I find a good shop I always ask the staff for local recommendations. When I lived in Dublin I remember trekking along Georges St up to the top of Camden St. in search of charity shop bargains. I have heard wonderful things about the Dublin Flea market and am looking forward to checking that out this winter… if the snow permits!

Whisty: Where are your favourite places to shop?

Sorcha: New York, New York! The Big Apple has such a diverse choice of vintage to choose from. Whether I’m rummaging through vintage boutiques in the East Village or warehouses in Williamsbourg, I will always have a huge smile plastered across my face! San Francisco is another vintage goldmine, particularly around Haight Street where you will find almost 20 vintage boutiques lined up in a tantalising row. If you have the patience, there are some huge charity shops in America where you can find bargains a plenty but often time is of the essence and it’s better to go somewhere with quality not quantity! France is my number one spot for vintage handbags, belts and shoes. I have recently posted a little guide to vintage shopping, eating and sleeping in Paris on my blog with some tips for any potential visitors.

Whisty: So you spend your life shopping! I’m so jealous, is it really as good as it sounds?

Sorcha: In a word, yes! It is a huge excuse to travel and when you are passionate about what you do it never feels like work anyway! The only drawback is that I literally find it impossible to pass a vintage shop/market without popping my head in. It can make for a very frustrated boyfriend sometimes!

Whisty: How do you convince yourself to sell all the stuff you buy, and not keep it all for your own wardrobe!?

Sorcha: If I am lucky all the beautiful pieces will be too large or small for me, then the decision is already made! I do find it very hard to part with items sometimes, that’s when I have to remind myself this is a job not a personal shopping trip!

Whisty: What is your favourite vintage era?

Sorcha: Hands down it’s the 1950s, give me Betty Draper in romantic florals and nipped in waist day dresses over 1980s bling any day!

Whisty: When is the next Dandelion Daydreamer Vintage pop-up shop please!!

Sorcha: We are currently open all week up until Christmas Eve and I am already working on the next pop up shop! I will be sure to let you know as soon as the preparations are finalised! For any Dublin ladies who wish to visit our showroom for a private viewing just drop us a line to book an appointment. (sorcha.gillett (@)gmail.com) tel : 0861283472


The coat I should’ve bought…

I think I need a bit more lemon yellow in my life… Hello pretty vintage 60’s dress. Now mine.

Dandelion Daydreamer on Facebook HERE

Dandelion Daydreamer Blog HERE shop HERE:

Whisty

Xx

5 Responses to “Style Post Intermission – Vintage Shopping”


  1. 1 Jules
    December 20, 2010 at 10:07 am

    great interview – now i’m inspired to do vintage! x

  2. December 20, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Love Sorcha! She presented me with a wonderful prize a few months back and I was driven mad trying to narrow down all the things I wanted to just a few …although The Boy’s mother took most of the voucher in the end *sigh* Can’t exactly start laying into the potential future mother-in-law, so I had to let it go….last time I offer her anything nice, I’ll tell you that!

  3. December 21, 2010 at 12:21 am

    :O I’m totally doing that with my belts! The luggage and bags in particular are amazing! Stunning coat x

  4. December 21, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Thanks Whisty! It was such a fun day and so nice to finally meet you! You look so nice in the coat it’s made me reconsider even selling it! I will let you know when the next batch of carrot cake is ready 😉 xox

  5. December 22, 2010 at 11:05 am

    some people have the most interesting lives dont they, really lusting after those suitcases x


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,416,577 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

Welcoming the #firstdayofspring in #northlondon on this pretty magnolia lined #street in #primrosehill .
.
#equinox #springtime #blossom #flowers#streetlamp#gaslight#georgian#archtecture#nature#pink#magnolia#tree Waiting for God-oh? Sitting on the #steps of the #cathedral wearing a #vintage #floral #sundress I bought from @flytheflyvintage in #sliema .
.
.
#laterpost #fashion #style #streetstyle #architecture #arches #doorway #church #history #sandstone #dress #raybans #adidas #shelltoes Off roading on #malta🇲🇹 I adore these side streets
.
.
#architecture#baroque#balcony#bluedoor#door#nature#stone#alleyway#historic#city#pastelshades#travel#travelbug Lost in #baroque
.
.
.
 #malta🇲🇹 #dome #architecture #cathedral #historic #mdina #silentcity #prayers #religious #church #art #marble#travel#travelbug The magical #medieval #walledcity in #malta🇲🇹
.
.
.
 #architecture #arches #baroque #knights #silentcity #mdina #historic #gate #ancient #ancientcity#travel#travelbug Looking up in #malta 🇲🇹
.
.
.
#sandstone #architecture #travel#travelbug #blueskies #arches #carving #city  #history #historic #unesco #knights #baroque #grandmaster Taking photos at #sunset  in #centrallondon by #theshard 
#clearskies #architecture #fashion #skyscrapers #skyline #urban #city #centrallondon #london #shard #southlondon #nightlife #night #skyscrapers #architecture

Click to Like

Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Latest Visitors

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

