26
Nov
10

A Slice of Tweedy Pie

Hey All,

I’m having my second Tweed crush of the year. (see the first here).

I’ve always been a bit of a fan of the stuff but looking around the high street yesterday I fell hard for all the edgy tweed jackets I saw. Every one from Tommy Hilfiger to New Look, seems to have their own version in different shades and really modern cuts.

I always think of country gents when I think of tweed; you know, the flat-cap wearing, handle-bar moustache growing, Hooray-Henry types. However this seasons Tweed has been updated and made much more versatile.

I can actually imagine these jackets being worn with leather trousers and slouchy tops. I took a few snaps of the ones I saw and the others I found on-line:

Tommy Hilfiger

Penneys / Primark

Penneys / Primark

Dunnes Stores

Zara – I did actually take a photo of this jacket in store, but it was so blurry, if I’d posted it you would’ve felt drunk looking at it!)

Next

New Look (Actually one of my favourites, and on sale at the moment).

Topshop

Topshop

If you need any more inspiration; apparently there are ‘Tweed Runs’ in the UK and US. People who have a passion for Tweed, all get together, dress in their favourite fabric, cycle around London, LA, Boston, DC… etc.. Mad, but jolly fun I’d wager, what what.

Image via Tweedrun.com

Image via dapperdandash.wordpress.com

And if that wasn’t inspiration enough, here’s a few snaps of rather stylish ladies in Tweed to tempt you instead:

Alexa Chung – Image via Arguewitheveryone

Off Duty Models – Image via altamiranyc

Kate Moss – Image via – posh24

Whisty

Xx


11 Responses to “A Slice of Tweedy Pie”


  1. November 26, 2010 at 9:17 am

    I really like the New Look one too, really nice shape to it.
    May have to pop in and pick that up 🙂
    Love the 3/4 length sleeve on Kate Moss.

    http://www.proudfoot.ie

  2. 2 Jules
    November 26, 2010 at 9:24 am

    i love the new look one – even better cos it’s on sale!
    x

  3. November 26, 2010 at 11:13 am

    Ooooh I like that Dunnes one… Might have to pop in later this weekend!

  4. November 26, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    I lurve tweed. It’s so cosy yet extremely elegant. I have to say, pretty impressed with Dunnes’ offering there!

  5. November 27, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    the tweed run…I WANT TO GO!

  6. November 29, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    Oh my days! I want to go on that tweed run!

    Also heart the Zara one. Very sleek.

  7. November 29, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    You just have to do a tweedy-shoot on a bicycle Whisty:)!! x

  8. November 30, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    The New Look one looks really good – a lot more expensive than I’m guessing it costs!


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,419,607 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

This place in #whitehall reminds me of a German #castle
.
.
.
#architecture#historic#london#centrallondon#westminster#whitehallgardens#victoriaembankment If the beautiful #architecture at #stmartininthefields isn't enough add a 2000 white #paperdoves #art #installation
.
.
.
#trafalgarsquare #centrallondon #church #michaelpendry#whitesdoves#artinstallation#lescolombes#history#peace#artforpeace #thamesside strolls on warm #summerevenings give good #views .
.
.
#architecture#london🇬🇧#riverthames#towerbridge#history#reflections#sunset#clouds#skies#walkways#bermondseystreet#southlondon#londonbridge #jerkalert This is what you want on a #Sunday a #graffiti #truffleshuffle #chunk from #thegoonies .
.
.
#80s#streetart#movie#gooniesneversaydie#oneeyedwillie#jxc#london#camden#northlondon Dear #car fairy, may I please have a #hotpink #mini?
.
.
.
#vintage#car#minicooper#pink#alloys#britannia#retro#austinmini#gt First time on a #borisbike and hitting the #touristtrail in #London today. .
.
.
#wellingtonarch#hydepark#wellington#centrallondon#britannia#historic#architecture#archway#buckinghampalace#historic We're attempting to add culture to our boozy do. #dublin #ireland🇮🇪 #travelling .
.
.
#baileáthecliath #90s #reflection #art #architecture #university Wishing I could jump in this #fountain today #heatwave .
.
.
#countryhouse #hertfordshire #hatfield #architecture #nature #blueskies #clouds #england #pond #reflection #windows #historic #elizabethi  #palace #queen
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

