23
Nov
10

Weak but not daft… Goddies Bagged, in a sensible way.

Hey All,

You know what? In my entire wardrobe, I only have one cardigan (by DVF) that fits me perfectly. I don’t actually remember another one since leaving my school uniform behind, that fitted nearly half as well.

1. The top of the sleeves are always too tight, even if I go a size bigger than usual.

2. There is always a gap between at least two buttons; if not more.

3. If its fitted then its always too tight around the middle.

4. If its loose, then either the front or the back seems to slouch down, leaving the other side exposing parts of me that a cardi is positively supposed to cover-up.

5. Women’s cardies are embellished. I don’t want sparkly buttons, or frilly cuffs, or badges, or lace. I just want a plain, well-fitted cardigan, something similar to what my Granddad used to wear. Though preferably without the pipe-ash and maybe in a softer wool.

It seems that my prayers were answered in the shape of Lanvin for H&M Menswear. I looked again at the collection on-line last night. Just to remind myself of the frilly, shiny party dresses that were going to be fought over this morning. Lovely and all that, just not my bag. There wasn’t a specific piece that made me want to queue in the cold for hours. I admit I was rather partial to the white tux jacket, but for that price I would rather find one that no-one else had.

I also didn’t fancy looking like Lanvin for H&M for the rest of the season; and have people come up to me with a sense of knowing in their eyes. Giving me that pitying look as they pat my one-shouldered, ruffled, red satin party dress.  Followed by a slow shake of the head as they enquire, “was it worth it?” *Cringe*.

Apparently people were queueing all night at  both Sth. King Street and Dundrum for a slice of this made-in-China, Lavin pie. I, on the other hand, wandered in at 10am; asked the important-looking woman with a clipboard; “Is there a queue for Menswear”. To which she replied, “no”. To which I replied, “lovely”.

Swooping in, I picked this up in grey and navy-blue (size small); walked to the changing rooms and chatted briefly with a rather charming Scotsman who gave me a tag. I tried both colours on, decided on the grey, checked that it wasn’t made of Polyester, (Merino wool actually), went to the cashier, paid (€59.99) and left. Smug? Nah, not at all, I still broke under the pressure of buy-it-before-it-sells-out marketing. Happy? It’s the best fitting cardigan I’ve ever bought, whadda you think?

Whisty Xx

9 Responses to “Weak but not daft… Goddies Bagged, in a sensible way.”


  1. November 23, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    They didn’t even have the white tux jacket. They only got part of the collection! Wish they would have told us that 😦

  2. November 23, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    Sigh, I’m daft. I wandered over at half 6 of the a.m., read the Sunday Times Magazine and stared around a bit until 7.40 when we got our wristbands and could head off again for a while. Bought some tees and bags but no dresses. They are going to be everywhere at Chrimbo, you’re right. The cardigan is the best in the menswear, good choice! You are wise. It was so embarrassing to be corralled into pen after pen!
    xxx Comtesse xxx

  3. November 23, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Apparently Dundrum got all the collection. I was happy with my two accessories. Check my blog for photos + a tiny tale about a very unfortunate girl who just wanted a dress.

    I queued from about half eight, but everything was so relaxed for the menswear.

    STEPHEN http://www.stitchesfabricandsoul.com

  4. November 23, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    I actually liked most of the collection but I couldn’t bring myself to buy anything from it! Your definitely wise with your choice!Men’s cardys are (imo) always better. I got a lovely cashmere one from M&S menswear a year or so ago and I love it!

  5. 5 Jules
    November 23, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    Amazing jumper – I too have trouble finding cardies to fit (i.e. i blame my big, urm, assets) and the only store that has basic cardies that fit me is… a|wear, which is a 2 hour trek from my “palace”. –

    I’ll now have to trudge along to a decent-sized shopping mall to find my nearest H&M. Alas, fingers crossed that they will still have stock come monday…! wish me luck! x

  6. November 24, 2010 at 8:13 am

    I’m trying to save money…so not trying to look at any pretty clothes 😦 Saw you on the RTE website, at the Forever 21 launch – looking fab might I add!!
    I included you in my ‘I Love Your Blog’ Interview!! So check it out 🙂
    Lady Peach
    xXx

  7. November 24, 2010 at 10:45 am

    I have a bit of an addiction to cardigans – just this weekend picked up a gorgeous long grey one in Topman – fits great , always a good idea to look at menswear too:)

  8. November 24, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    heehee I miss being in shops with you!

  9. November 27, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Looks like the perfect cardigan, much more sensible for the current weather than a silly gorgeous ruffly delight!! I did a little sketch of my favourite Lanvin x H&M pieces for my blog. Would love one of the tshirts but not enough to go to any crazy effort!! Love your blog! Really admire your balls going into shops and trying crazily expensive things on/standing in huge Hermes bags etc. Big up Whisty!


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,416,649 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

Welcoming the #firstdayofspring in #northlondon on this pretty magnolia lined #street in #primrosehill .
.
#equinox #springtime #blossom #flowers#streetlamp#gaslight#georgian#archtecture#nature#pink#magnolia#tree Waiting for God-oh? Sitting on the #steps of the #cathedral wearing a #vintage #floral #sundress I bought from @flytheflyvintage in #sliema .
.
.
#laterpost #fashion #style #streetstyle #architecture #arches #doorway #church #history #sandstone #dress #raybans #adidas #shelltoes Off roading on #malta🇲🇹 I adore these side streets
.
.
#architecture#baroque#balcony#bluedoor#door#nature#stone#alleyway#historic#city#pastelshades#travel#travelbug Lost in #baroque
.
.
.
 #malta🇲🇹 #dome #architecture #cathedral #historic #mdina #silentcity #prayers #religious #church #art #marble#travel#travelbug The magical #medieval #walledcity in #malta🇲🇹
.
.
.
 #architecture #arches #baroque #knights #silentcity #mdina #historic #gate #ancient #ancientcity#travel#travelbug Looking up in #malta 🇲🇹
.
.
.
#sandstone #architecture #travel#travelbug #blueskies #arches #carving #city  #history #historic #unesco #knights #baroque #grandmaster Taking photos at #sunset  in #centrallondon by #theshard 
#clearskies #architecture #fashion #skyscrapers #skyline #urban #city #centrallondon #london #shard #southlondon #nightlife #night #skyscrapers #architecture

Click to Like

Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Latest Visitors

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

