15
Nov
10

Designer Emma Manley – The Big Blogging Week – post #1a of 6

Hey All,

I have set myself a bit of a challenge this week. I’ve had a bunch of things that I have really been wanting to post and a bunch of reasons that I haven’t done so. Reasons that don’t really relate to blogging in the slightest. As a blogger it can be hard to remember that a blog is essentially a diary, a list (or log) of things that a certain person does / sees / says over a non-specified duration.

Over and above anything else that a blogger may experience when posting, the most rewarding thing is receiving comments. Or so my experiences show me anyway. I’ve got to the point where I write posts that  I think you  lovely readers may enjoy looking at  (and possibly reading too) and therefore will be inspired to comment on. I have however, also forgotten that the blog is supposed to be a log of stuff that I do etc. (see above).

So even if what I post this week gets no comments, I’m going to keep it honest and post the things that inspire me, impress me, make me want to write full stop. Kinda of taking back the blog and indulging myself this week. I promise will try very hard, to do the following:

Post at least once a day Monday 15th – Friday 19th. (no scheduling allowed).

Post a personal style post –

Post about an Irish Designer – EDIT: Complete Nov. 15th

Post about the high street – EDIT: Complete Nov. 15th & Complete Nov. 18th

Post about vintage –

Something random to keep me on my toes… – EDIT: Complete Nov. 16th

To start off and as a tonic to the recent hubbub surrounding the opening of a couple of international high street stores, I’m posting about Irish designer, Emma Manley.

I went into Bow Boutique for the first time about two months ago. (yes, yes I know, it makes no sense to me either) There were two specific collections that I was blown away by and they couldn’t have been more different from each other. The ethereal beauty of Eilis Boyle and Emma Manley‘s structured, Urban cool.

Because of the way that the boutique is laid out, I was completely unaware of my new-found obsessions. I was absent-mindedly chatting a couple of fabulous ladies who run the store while I was crushing-on the clothes. It wasn’t until on eof them mentioned that fact that pretty much every piece I said “Oh wow” or “This is amazing” or “*Gasp* this is amazing” or “I want this” etc. was an Emma Manley piece.

Alas the funds will not allow even a bog-standard, fast-fashiony-type high street piece at the moment, let alone a designer piece. But I was happy in the knowledge that I now have a new place to clothes-perve. Then last week I saw the new Emma Manley SS11 look book. And I was smitten so I thought I’d share some of the photographs.

Think I need these Jodhpurs in my wardrobe…

Or this studded vest.

Or these Jodhpurs.

Sheer joy, a leather and silk chiffon blouse.

The collection is utterly contemporary and urban; feminine and sporty; the fabrics are wool, jersey, chiffon and pig-skin leather; the inspiration for the collection came from Bauhaus Art. Emma says of the collection that “The Manley aesthetic is quite romantic so for me the big challenge was making something beautiful using tough fabrics, hard shapes and strong lines. I introduced terribly feminine fabrics to balance out the pig-skin. Essentially I softened my inspiration and hardened my garments basic structure“.

Credits:

Photographer // Deirdre O’ Toole – Photographers Assistant // Simon Keenan

Hair // Ciaran Cannon at Shampoo Hair Design – Make Up // Rachel Taglienti

Models // January Russell, Jayne Wild (Morgan the Agency) & Hannah Ring

Xx

12 Responses to “Designer Emma Manley – The Big Blogging Week – post #1a of 6”


  1. November 16, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Love the unique style of their pictures, really cool xx

  2. November 16, 2010 at 12:24 am

    love love LOVE the studded vest.

    whisty, your first trip to bow only two months ago???? i love that place so much. if i had the cash i could easily offload about 5 grand in there. wonderful, wonderful treasure trove of goodies!

  3. 3 Jules
    November 16, 2010 at 9:11 am

    amazing looks – and i agree with aideen – the studded vest is love! x

  4. November 16, 2010 at 10:47 am

    OHMYGAWD: I really like those photos. Must find out the photographer + try pick their brains. I’m actually astounded and gob-smacked.

    ALSO: Look forward to reading the remainder of your posts this week.

    -Stephen http://www.stitchesfabricandsoul.com

  5. November 16, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    wow these images look like such a blast x

  6. November 16, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Oooh looks lovely!! Love the pics! Must go in and have a look at this collection! x

  7. November 16, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    those pictures are unreal !

  8. November 17, 2010 at 12:09 am

    I love those pics – very free and unique!
    x


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,416,559 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

Welcoming the #firstdayofspring in #northlondon on this pretty magnolia lined #street in #primrosehill .
.
#equinox #springtime #blossom #flowers#streetlamp#gaslight#georgian#archtecture#nature#pink#magnolia#tree Waiting for God-oh? Sitting on the #steps of the #cathedral wearing a #vintage #floral #sundress I bought from @flytheflyvintage in #sliema .
.
.
#laterpost #fashion #style #streetstyle #architecture #arches #doorway #church #history #sandstone #dress #raybans #adidas #shelltoes Off roading on #malta🇲🇹 I adore these side streets
.
.
#architecture#baroque#balcony#bluedoor#door#nature#stone#alleyway#historic#city#pastelshades#travel#travelbug Lost in #baroque
.
.
.
 #malta🇲🇹 #dome #architecture #cathedral #historic #mdina #silentcity #prayers #religious #church #art #marble#travel#travelbug The magical #medieval #walledcity in #malta🇲🇹
.
.
.
 #architecture #arches #baroque #knights #silentcity #mdina #historic #gate #ancient #ancientcity#travel#travelbug Looking up in #malta 🇲🇹
.
.
.
#sandstone #architecture #travel#travelbug #blueskies #arches #carving #city  #history #historic #unesco #knights #baroque #grandmaster Taking photos at #sunset  in #centrallondon by #theshard 
#clearskies #architecture #fashion #skyscrapers #skyline #urban #city #centrallondon #london #shard #southlondon #nightlife #night #skyscrapers #architecture

Click to Like

Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Latest Visitors

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

