04
Oct
10

Vintage goes mainstream

Hey All,

Happy Monday.

I’m not sure if it was because board games were boring; we had a bizarre sense of enjoyment or it was simply because we weren’t allowed to watch Grange Hill, but while my sister and I were growing up, our favourite game, by a million miles, was dressing up. We actually had a ‘dressing up box’ which was a big trunk filled with an amazing collection of my Gran’s old clothes, a lot of dodgy 70’s & 80’s stuff, random bridesmaids dresses and fancy dress costumes. Shoes, hats, bags, gloves, scarves, cravats, you name it, we had it in our dressing-up box.

I’m not sure if it’s because of the dressing-up box,  but I still can’t resist the urge to try stuff on that will quite obviously serve no purpose in my day-to-day life. If you are a regular reader here, you’ll know that I like old clothes for a hundred reason’s (most of them pretty obvious). One particular reason I like it so much is because it causes a bit of a divide. Some people just don’t like it, they complain about the way it smells or that someone else has worn it, or that vintage shops are crowded and dark. The reasons go on, none of which I agree with of course.

If anyone says this to me in future however, rather than argue the point, I have the following sentence to use in retort:

“Go and visit Hayworth Vintage in Arnotts, and come back to me with those thoughts”.

I was talking to a friend of a friend who was wearing an amazing vintage fur coat last week. When I hinted gushed that I loved it, she told me about the concession in Arnotts. I was over the top excited to go and have a look around, so I did, last Friday and this is what I saw.

Wow.

So I tried a couple on. They were reduced from €180 to around €120.

This one was definitely my favourite,  I felt like an extra in Cry Baby.

P.S. Hayworth Vintage are celebrating their 2nd birthday by offering a 10% discount for the month of October,

Xx

14 Responses to “Vintage goes mainstream”


  1. October 5, 2010 at 7:13 am

    Wowzers! Wait – I had no idea there was such a place in Arnotts! Look forward to popping in!

  2. 2 ams
    October 5, 2010 at 8:37 am

    some seriously pretty dresses there!

  3. October 5, 2010 at 9:27 am

    wow, didn’t know that place existed! totally gonna go in for a look x

  4. October 5, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Love that second dress… Never knew about this concession – will defo check it out!

  5. October 5, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    I love Arnotts and these dressing up clothes are gorgeous for doing just that. You would need to add a quirky touch though or you would look a tad twee x

  6. October 6, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Omg wow! I didn’t know that place existed either! Must take a gander!
    x

  7. October 6, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Can’t wait to check this place out!!
    Lady Peach
    xXx

  8. October 6, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    Ive been craving a good day of vintage hunting and this has just added to that even more! Love the blue dress too! x

  9. October 7, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    I couldn’t be more there after work if I tried.

  10. October 8, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    ooh i visited here on my last dublin trip and fell in love with it. perfect place to go if i need a good frock for something..im just trying to think up an excuse now!

  11. October 9, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    I had a dress up trunk too! It kept me entertained for hours, nothing quite like it! x

  12. October 17, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    WOAH. will someone take me to the ball so i can wear one of these beauties??


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,419,528 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

If the beautiful #architecture at #stmartininthefields isn't enough add a 2000 white #paperdoves #art #installation
.
.
.
#trafalgarsquare #centrallondon #church #michaelpendry#whitesdoves#artinstallation#lescolombes#history#peace#artforpeace #thamesside strolls on warm #summerevenings give good #views .
.
.
#architecture#london🇬🇧#riverthames#towerbridge#history#reflections#sunset#clouds#skies#walkways#bermondseystreet#southlondon#londonbridge #jerkalert This is what you want on a #Sunday a #graffiti #truffleshuffle #chunk from #thegoonies .
.
.
#80s#streetart#movie#gooniesneversaydie#oneeyedwillie#jxc#london#camden#northlondon Dear #car fairy, may I please have a #hotpink #mini?
.
.
.
#vintage#car#minicooper#pink#alloys#britannia#retro#austinmini#gt First time on a #borisbike and hitting the #touristtrail in #London today. .
.
.
#wellingtonarch#hydepark#wellington#centrallondon#britannia#historic#architecture#archway#buckinghampalace#historic We're attempting to add culture to our boozy do. #dublin #ireland🇮🇪 #travelling .
.
.
#baileáthecliath #90s #reflection #art #architecture #university Wishing I could jump in this #fountain today #heatwave .
.
.
#countryhouse #hertfordshire #hatfield #architecture #nature #blueskies #clouds #england #pond #reflection #windows #historic #elizabethi  #palace #queen #spotted in #Airlingus #cara #magazine by @hastings.laura @tomrg103... on their way to #cork... me in #boston ( 📸 @seanfay1981 )
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

