20
Jul
10

Mini Trend – White Maxi Dresses

OR: One wholly inappropriate sartorial choice for a soggy Irish summer.

Hey All,

I’m crushing on every one of these photographs. I know that ankle / floor length white dresses and puddle-ridden Dublin streets are not exactly a match made in heaven, but still. I very much would like a pretty white maxi dress immediately please.

I saw the post-Glasto pics of Florence Welch in hers and since then, I’ve seen long white dresses everywhere. They’ve been teasing me saying, oh go on, you know you want to. And I do want to, especially the sheer skirted ones and I’d wear it with my scruffy old pair of black Doc Martens to boot.

Florence Welch, Glastonbury ’10 (image via Style.com)

Daisy Lowe (R), Opening of Acne London Studio July ’10 (Image Via Zimbio)

Joanne Hynes, Failte Ireland Race Day, ’10

Rumi Neely, Fashiontoast, July ’10

When Decades Collide, July ’10

Topshop, AW10

Xx

OR: One wholly inappropriate sartorial choice for a soggy Irish summer.

Hey All,

I’m crushing on every one of these photographs. I know that ankle / floor length white dresses and puddle-ridden Dublin streets are not exactly a match made in heaven, but still. I very much would like a pretty white maxi dress immediately please.

I saw the post-Glasto pics of Florence Welch in hers and since then, I’ve seen long white dresses everywhere. They’ve been teasing me saying, oh go on, you know you want to. And I do want to, especially the sheer skirted ones and I’d wear one with my scruffy old pair of black Doc Martens to boot.

12 Responses to “Mini Trend – White Maxi Dresses”


  1. July 20, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    You should buy the “When Decades Collide” one. It would look fab on you!

  2. July 20, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    oooh give me that Lowe number..yumyum

  3. July 20, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    I love the Topshop one!! You have get one, youd so rock that look Ms Whisty:)!! x

  4. July 20, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    Florence looks amazing – she can really pull off that floaty dress/mucky boots look

  5. July 20, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    I know this post is about white maxis, but if I don’t own a pair of Acne wedges at some point in my life….I’ll actually die. They are so beautiful.

  6. 6 Zoe
    July 20, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    I’m loving the sheer creamy white dresses, I’ve been lusting after a pair. But yeah, Ireland, is it practical? Why am i so sensible? Anyway, my favourites are Flo’s and Daisy’s of course!

  7. July 20, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    Love Florence. That flame red hair is just amazing against the white. I printed off that picture of Rumi she looks incredible. If anyone could rock it, it’s you! Go for it!

  8. 8 jenniemc
    July 21, 2010 at 9:53 am

    love the topshop one also. edgy pretty. also love jaime winstone wedges…pray tell – where from?

  9. July 21, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    Rumi’s dress and that Topshop one are nice, but in general, I just really don’t like maxi dresses….the vast majority of them look sooooo badly made, it hurts me!

  10. July 22, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Yesss, I love the one on Topshop!

  11. January 6, 2011 at 12:54 am

    The whole topshop outfit is a win for me and as always Rumi looks great. I love that this Summer in Sydney we are seeing such a broad range of fashion from micro minis through to amazing maxis and Kaftans.


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,422,206 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

#autumnal days in my #granmother’s #mac, kicking up the #fallenleaves .
.
.
#autumn🍁#london#seasons#northlondon#streetstyle#vintage#heels#boots#blondehair#fashion#style#macintosh When you suddenly find yourself in the #1940s in #centrallondon - then you realise it's just a #filmset .
.
.
#1940sfashion#1940shair#WWII#redbus#architecture#themovies#film#makedoandmend#keepcalm#christopherrobin#onlocation#bankofengland#thecity#extras Just working out how to post a #panorama wish I was still #travelling around #croatia 🇭🇷 .
.
.
#vis#island#islandlife#backpacking#sea#beach#sunset#europe Outside inside #time. #lookingup at the #clocktower in #callypark .
.
.
#london#northlondon#openhouselondon2017#architecture#victorian#tower Inside #time. Even with a #fearofheights and #vertigo you still can't keep me from #climbing #towers. #faceyourfears #blackandwhitephotography
.
.
. 
#callypark#callyroad#caledonianroad#caledonianpark#london#northlondon#openhouselondon#clocktower#clockface Hop a speedboat to just off #remote #unspoiled #vis #island arrive at the #bluecave 🚤🏝⛰🇭🇷
.
.
.
#travelling#croatia#backpacking#europe#nature#sea#islandlife#boattrip Taking in the #view of the #island of #biševo from the island of #vis ❤️🇭🇷🌴🌊 .
.
.
#croatia#islandlife#travelling#backpacking#europe#adriaticsea#holiday#sea#rocks Yep. Deffo a #fortress. #hvartown.
Casually draped on a massive #cannon .
.
.
#croatia#travelling#view#ancient#fotress#archirecture#španijola#stinewall#backpacking#islandlife#sea#vis
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

