02
Jul
10

T Shirts. Yes. That’s the title of this post.

Hey All,

I was bumbling around the internet earlier-on today and found a sight that sells some wicked T Shirts, which I’m gonna get to in just a sec…

First though, if you’ll permit me, I’d like to have a little whinge for a paragraph or two. Summer’s all pretty much amazing, right? Apart from extortionate festival ticket prices, yeah? That and the Irishman’s take on summer fashion; Those 3/4 shorts; the sandals / hairy toes combo; shades  on top of your bald head. No, no, no. And then there’s the slogan T Shirt. Lads, please don’t; if you see a T Shirt with a slogan that refers in any way at all to:

A. Being on the John;

B. Getting drunk;

C. The fact that you love your mother; or

D. Doing the “no-pants dance”; (unless it actually says that and you are Brian Fontana)

…do not think wearing it will make you seem cool, witty or in any way interesting. It will, in fact, make you look like a bit of a tw*t. I’ve been lucky enough to have read such “Witticisms” as :

The ubiquitously charming; “I twitter on the Sh***er” – Nice image, thanks for that Dude. How about you walk by the window wearing that, as I tuck into this delicious Jo Burger. Oh good, you did… Seriously, that is purely because it rhymes right? I could make T Shirt slogans if you just need Rhyming; like, I Bebo as I Lawn Mow. I mean, it’s not hard is it.

How about, “If found, please return to the bar” – Should read; “If found, you’re drinking in the wrong kind of bar and you should leave immediately for a place where cool, witty and interesting people drink”.

There was, “Mummy’s Little Soldier” – If why this is wrong, needs explaining, please shut down your internet connection and never darken my blog again.

Lastly, “Ladies, I like to Cuddle” – I’m sorry, but this just makes us ‘ladies’ think that you have some kind of issue downstairs or you’re basically a weirdo. Or both.

Girls, this goes for us too: Any reference to the fact that you might be a bit of a slapper, usually doesn’t need advertising. Men have the uncanny knack of being able to know this from a mile away, so the only people you’d be informing are other women. And you know how other women warm instantly to slappers…

**********

So anyway, T Shirt’s. I’d rather make like Patti Smith (above) and wear some axe-wielding hero across my chest, thanks. I am also quite tempted to slogan it up, but buy wearing an, As Worn By T Shirt instead. If it’s good enough for Kurt Cobain, Ian Brown and Keith Richards, it’s sure as hell good enough for me. And unless you spend time mingling with the counterfeit money police, a die-hard grunger or Sir Mick himself, the chance of you being socially outcast because of your attire is definitely slimmer with these, than any of the aforementioned.

They are men’s T Shirts by the way, so I would suggest buying XS/S if you’re a size 8, S if you’re a size 10 etc. Speaking of Men’s T Shirts (why are they so much better that women’s ones) I bought this in the Topman sale, Henry St. yesterday for €12. Yes, real Mods.

Have an amazing weekend and if you’re bored / have an spare hour, it might be worth having a look at Kings of Concrete in Temple Bar Sat / Sun afternoons.

EDIT: If you sign up to the As Worn By newsletter, you get 10% off your first purchase.

Xx

All images via google / As Worn By.

Slogan T Shirts. Lads, please don’t. If you see a T Shirt with a slogan that refers in anyway to:1. Doing the “no-pants dance”;2. Getting drunk;

3. The fact that you love your mother; or

4. Any reference to being on the John

– wearing it will not make you seem cool, witty or in anyway interesting. I will make you, well like a bit of a twat really.

I’ve seen Tees with such “Witticisms” as :

“Ladies I like to Cuddle” – I’m sorry, but this just makes us think that you have some kind of issue downstairs or you’re basically just a weirdo.

“If found, please return to the bar” – Should read; “If found, you’re drinking in the wrong kind of bar and you should leave immediately for a place where cool, witty and interesting people drink”.

“Mummy’s Little Soldier” – If why this is wrong needs explaining please shut down your internet connection and never darken my blog again.

and ” I twitter on the Sh…..”

14 Responses to “T Shirts. Yes. That’s the title of this post.”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    July 2, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    nice xxxxx

  2. July 2, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    Nice! Been looking for a good approximate of that Ian Brown tee for aaaages. Great spot.

    thelicentiate.blogspot.com

  3. July 2, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    mmmm mods….and I love a good winge and a ‘whistyisicm’

  4. July 3, 2010 at 8:12 am

    Would I have seen you the other day on South William in a navy number with a hot pink belt? If so, I loved it but found myself shortchanged with regard to my camera.

    I’ll catch you some time!

    -Ste http://www.stitchesfabricandsoul.com

  5. July 3, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Keith Richards wearing a ‘Who The F*ck Is Mick Jagger?’ tee, I love it!!! 🙂
    Ps. Think me & a few of me girlies are gonna head into this Kings of Concrete thing, it looks good so thanks for the heads up x

  6. July 4, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    Oh I hate slogan tshirts more than anything. The worst is a girl wearing one that says ‘My boyfriend is out of town’ CRINGE!!

  7. July 4, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Hahaha brilliant post:)!! Im still laughing at I twitter on the s*****r!! Still the kind of laughing that if I ever saw anyone wearing it I’d probably want to punch them in the face! x

  8. July 6, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    The ‘If found please return to the pub one’ may as well read ‘I’m a knob don’t speak to me.’ It’s not big and it’s not clever lads.

  9. July 8, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Totally agree! Guys have the coolest t-shirts… I’m always eyeing up the stock in Topman! Amazing.
    x

  10. 14 Shelby
    August 1, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    I really like the mick jagger Shirt! I think it is funny and it would be great to have in my closet to wear out!


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,423,882 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

I love grabbing the #bench on #parliamenthill and soaking up this view of my #hometown .
.
.
#london#northlondon#hampsteadheath#nature#cityscape#skyscrapers#fashion#style#streetstyle An #icon.
.
.
.
#blondie#debbieharry#brixton#uktour#music#punk#atomic Stunning #architecture and #reflections in #Valencia .
.
.
#greyscale#SantiagoCalatrava#FélixCandela#modernism#travelling#europe #autumnal days in my #granmother’s #mac, kicking up the #fallenleaves .
.
.
#autumn🍁#london#seasons#northlondon#streetstyle#vintage#heels#boots#blondehair#fashion#style#macintosh When you suddenly find yourself in the #1940s in #centrallondon - then you realise it's just a #filmset .
.
.
#1940sfashion#1940shair#WWII#redbus#architecture#themovies#film#makedoandmend#keepcalm#christopherrobin#onlocation#bankofengland#thecity#extras Just working out how to post a #panorama wish I was still #travelling around #croatia 🇭🇷 .
.
.
#vis#island#islandlife#backpacking#sea#beach#sunset#europe Outside inside #time. #lookingup at the #clocktower in #callypark .
.
.
#london#northlondon#openhouselondon2017#architecture#victorian#tower Inside #time. Even with a #fearofheights and #vertigo you still can't keep me from #climbing #towers. #faceyourfears #blackandwhitephotography
.
.
. 
#callypark#callyroad#caledonianroad#caledonianpark#london#northlondon#openhouselondon#clocktower#clockface
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

