21
Jun
10

T-Shirt Weather.

Hey Readers,

It was holiday-hot today. Amazing. Definite T-Shirt weather. In fact T-Shirts might’ve even been to warm today. The one I pulled out of the drawer definitely was.

Okay, let me just go on a little tangent very briefly for a sec…

Band T-Shirts right? The cool ones all used to be men’s sizes, usually black and used the kind of dodgy print technique that would fade after a couple of washes. (Which kinda gave them that – oh yeah, these dudes, “casual nod towards own  chest*, Oh I’ve been into them from the beginning – look about them).

Then, the T-Shirt people realised that some girls like cool bands too. So they decided to make smaller ones. Unfortunately, the next thing that happened was that the aforementioned T-Shirt people, decided that not only should they make smaller ones for “chicks” (that’s what I’m imagining they said, it was prob worse). But how about we make them pink… and I know, put little glittery diamantés all over them and make them really girly, cause that’s what all girls want…

You understand that pink and girly is something that I get; summer dresses and tea parties esp; will wear to an extent and would never ridicule in the most part. BUT if I choose to wear Jimi Hendrix, The Rolling Stones, The S€x Pistols, The Jam or some other band that I happen to be crushing on at the time, across my chest; I don’t want to do it in diamanté pink thanks.

So man tees it is. I’ll favour the faded print, faded black, too big to look cute type instead. Especially if I’m in close proximity to a pair of scissors…. Like I was today…

I cut the sleeves off, just past the seam and cut the neck wider; (leaving about 3.5 inches (9cm’s) on each shoulder).

It was still a bit roomy so I got some sleeve holders and clipped them to the back to pull in the sides, et voila. Bring on the cut-off denim shorts and more sunshine please.

Sleeve holders in more detail. I got them in Oxfam Vintage on Georges St for €1.

Customised Tee in action.

Xx

24 Responses to “T-Shirt Weather.”


  1. June 21, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    I love the kind of before and after shot of the t-shirt. You’re so creative. The last little ‘customisation’ I did was actually to a Rolling Stones t-shirt funnily enough. Just gave it a scoop neck and cut the kind of elastic or band or whatever at the bottom to make it more flowy.

    But, again back to yours, the detail with the sleeve holders is thrilling. Well Done!

    -Ste http://www.stitchesfabricandsoul.com

  2. June 22, 2010 at 8:47 am

    That looks really great! Im going to have to hunt down some sleeve holders now! x

  3. June 22, 2010 at 10:14 am

    I love the idea of the sleeve holders!
    I have this bad boy for t-shirt renovations: http://www.amazon.com/Generation-108-Ways-Transform-T-Shirt/dp/0761137858 I love band t-shirts, but I just look like a giant boob when I wear them! Snip, snip!

  4. 4 Becki
    June 22, 2010 at 11:27 am

    This is so cool! Very creative, so grungy… You gotta post a pic of you wearing it !

  5. June 22, 2010 at 11:28 am

    he he…. i did something similar to my “the who” t-shirt yesterday… just cut off one sleeve to make it asymmetrical and made it a tad more fitted…. will be wearing it tonight at the blondie concert!

  6. June 22, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    I wish I’d been that creative when I was 16 and robbing my brothers Metallica and Faith No More Tees. Cool Post!!

  7. June 22, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    Very, very cool!! Great idea! A tough tea, with some sparkle at the back, just perfect!

  8. June 23, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    Wow! That is an amazing idea! I think I will get the scissors out and try that too… the sleeve holders are a great addition! I had never even heard of ‘sleeve holders’ before! I must go and hunt down some!
    Great post
    xxx

  9. June 23, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Any tips for making sure you cut the neck evenly? I’ve messed up a couple of t-shirts trying to even them out!
    x

    • 10 whisty
      June 29, 2010 at 1:58 pm

      Hey Alex,
      So I hope this makes sense:
      1. Put on tee and mark on the shoulder seam on the Tee where the end of each of your shoulders are with fabric pencil (or, failing that, try eye whitening pencil like yours truly!)
      2. Remove tee and moving in towards neck, measure the width you want the new shoulder straps to be. I did about 9cm’s and marked again with pencil. This will leave you with 4 small white pencil marks on the top edge / shoulder seam of your tee.
      3. On one side draw a line from the pencil mark nearest the neck hole down and directly under the elasticated band around the neckline. Repeat on the other side so the two lines meet at the lowest point under the neck hole.
      4. Cut the line on the front of the tee only.
      5. On the reverse of the Tee, repeat steps 3 & 4 but using the back of the elasticated band around the neckline.
      This should give you a kind of boat neckline. The cuts don’t have to be perfect as the Jersey fabric that TShirts are made of rolls over when it’s raw cut and will hide and mistakes.
      I hope that all makes sense!
      Xx

  10. 11 moncheri2311
    June 23, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    THIS IS SUCH A GOOD IDEA!

    I am going to try this immediately,such a good way to revamp a boring tee!

    Huge fan of your lovely blog ❤

    MON CHERI !

  11. June 24, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    this is mad cool!! i was never a band t-shirt girl (unless we gloss over that unfortunate incident of adding lace to a franz ferdinand shirt that was worn all of once). i want a JD shirt now. more pix of how you wore it!

  12. June 24, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Awesome! I don’t think I’ve ever even seen sleeve holders before…. I need to track some down I think!

  13. June 24, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    cute outfit, like your converse.SarahD

  14. June 24, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Meant your converse in your other post…sorry!:)SD

  15. 16 whisty
    June 29, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Thanks so much peoples! Xx
    I always forget how much fun DIY and modification of old stuff is. I reckon I shoudl defo be doing more of it!
    Love.
    Whisty.

  16. June 30, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    Ooooh love that, good for recycling an old tshirt for the nice weather!

  17. 18 mnhn
    November 1, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    im sorry, if you cant handle wearing a t shirt without cutting it up and putting little clips in the back then maybe you shouldn’t wear t shirts at all. besides, girls look a lot sexier in big loose rock tees anyway…

  18. 19 Aoife
    January 18, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Just cut my top using your instructions, I love it. Thank you!

  19. February 21, 2011 at 12:13 am

    i tried this on my band shirt but the bottom of the sleeves sort of.. stick outwards, rather than the sleeves being
    | | like that
    theyre more..
    . | |
    .
    . | |

    if you get me?

    • February 21, 2011 at 1:57 am

      Hey Mollie, lovely to hear from you!
      I’m not entirely sure about this sleeve situ.
      Is there some way of removing some excess material? Or even better if you want to send a photo over? I have an email address on the contact page?
      Yours, Whisty
      Xx


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,416,550 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

Welcoming the #firstdayofspring in #northlondon on this pretty magnolia lined #street in #primrosehill .
.
#equinox #springtime #blossom #flowers#streetlamp#gaslight#georgian#archtecture#nature#pink#magnolia#tree Waiting for God-oh? Sitting on the #steps of the #cathedral wearing a #vintage #floral #sundress I bought from @flytheflyvintage in #sliema .
.
.
#laterpost #fashion #style #streetstyle #architecture #arches #doorway #church #history #sandstone #dress #raybans #adidas #shelltoes Off roading on #malta🇲🇹 I adore these side streets
.
.
#architecture#baroque#balcony#bluedoor#door#nature#stone#alleyway#historic#city#pastelshades#travel#travelbug Lost in #baroque
.
.
.
 #malta🇲🇹 #dome #architecture #cathedral #historic #mdina #silentcity #prayers #religious #church #art #marble#travel#travelbug The magical #medieval #walledcity in #malta🇲🇹
.
.
.
 #architecture #arches #baroque #knights #silentcity #mdina #historic #gate #ancient #ancientcity#travel#travelbug Looking up in #malta 🇲🇹
.
.
.
#sandstone #architecture #travel#travelbug #blueskies #arches #carving #city  #history #historic #unesco #knights #baroque #grandmaster Taking photos at #sunset  in #centrallondon by #theshard 
#clearskies #architecture #fashion #skyscrapers #skyline #urban #city #centrallondon #london #shard #southlondon #nightlife #night #skyscrapers #architecture

Click to Like

Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Latest Visitors

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

