10
Jun
10

My Festival Essential? – A Parka

Dear Readers,

Like something that’s meant to be – a few things came together today.

1. The wettest weekend music celebrations known to man; AKA the UK / Ireland festival season, started this weekend, with Download at Donington Park.

2. This prompted someone to ask me what my one, single festival essential was, for a magazine survey*.

3. I tried this frikkin amazing parka on in River Island this afternoon.

and 4. I just got back from watching the new Noel Clarke film, 4.3.2.1. In which Shannon, played by Ophelia Lovibond wears a similar parka.

*Naturally then, my answer was, “why, a Parka of course”. I have decided that I need one of these in my life; especially for hanging around, drinking and dancing in fields. Wearing it with Hunters, cut-offs and a few layers on top will do the job. The River Island one is lined with something to make it warmer and I’m thinking, if I manage to ‘loose’ my tent, this coat will easily double up as a sleeping bag. It’s huge too.

If you’re unconvinced by my converse / Parka combination, here’s a few looks for real inspiration:

The Sartorialist

Trendtastic-ny.com – (a bit short but loving the leather trousers / parka combo)

Kate Beckinsale

Rihanna – Teaming Aran knits with hers

The 4.3.2.1. Girls with Shannon in her Parka

The ultimate Parka – as worn by Jimmy in Quadrophenia

Xx

All images via google unless stated otherwise.

9 Responses to “My Festival Essential? – A Parka”


  1. June 11, 2010 at 9:05 am

    I picked up a great summer parka in Pennys a few weeks back, all military style and light – love it!

  2. June 11, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    Oh that parka and leather look is so very Balmain. Love it!
    Parkas are a definite festival staple. And thick woolly knee socks are always handy for pimping out a pair of Hunters!

  3. June 13, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    I love the Parka, perfect for an Irish Summer!!! or more specifically today when you need warmth and protection. I love the one on Kate Beckinsale.

  4. June 14, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    Love your one and the first pic is cool too. I always loved Kate Moss’s parka look with a denim mini and Westwood Pirate boots as far as I remember.

  5. June 14, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    Yeah I need a decent parka!!!!

  6. June 15, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Thank you for offering some realistic festival advice! So many magazines/websites are recommending totally impractical things for festivals (suede stilettoes etc), its like….have you ever actually *been* to a festival before mrs?

    Even in mid-summer I think its a good idea to bring something warm to snuggle up in. Last year I was at Reading and even though the sun was shining all weekend it was still f**king FREEZING at times and I found myself wishing I’d brought something warmer than a flimsy playsuit – especially at night time.

    Parkas are so cool too – so casual and rock n’ roll, they remind me of both Jimmy in Quadrophenia and Kate Moss back in the 90s….good pick!

    Rosa xoxo

  7. June 19, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    I love parka’s…couldn’t live without mine!SarahD:)

  8. July 6, 2010 at 11:07 am

    I’ve just been to wireless and (of course) used the opportunity to show off one of my new parkas.. Check out http://www.yogoego.com/product-details/manufacturers/140/4916/Brands/TFNC/TFNC-Vintage-Military-Style-Festival-Parka.htm. I also bought a great By Basi Parka too! x


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,420,945 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

Inside #time. Even with a #fearofheights and #vertigo you still can't keep me from #climbing #towers. #faceyourfears #blackandwhitephotography
.
.
. 
#callypark#callyroad#caledonianroad#caledonianpark#london#northlondon#openhouselondon#clocktower#clockface Hop a speedboat to just off #remote #unspoiled #vis #island arrive at the #bluecave 🚤🏝⛰🇭🇷
.
.
.
#travelling#croatia#backpacking#europe#nature#sea#islandlife#boattrip Taking in the #view of the #island of #biševo from the island of #vis ❤️🇭🇷🌴🌊 .
.
.
#croatia#islandlife#travelling#backpacking#europe#adriaticsea#holiday#sea#rocks Yep. Deffo a #fortress. #hvartown.
Casually draped on a massive #cannon .
.
.
#croatia#travelling#view#ancient#fotress#archirecture#španijola#stinewall#backpacking#islandlife#sea#vis So they have #cocktailbars in 13th century #fortresses here. The #tower juts out over the #sea, perfect for watching the #sunset.
.
.
.
#travelling#europe#backpacking#croatia#walledcity#ancient#architecture#silhouette#island#islandlife So fancy #fortress #towers are a thing on #korcula .
.
.
#medieval#turrets#croatia#walled ity#island#islandlife#adriaticsea#travelling#backpacking#europe#history#architectire #exploring the #medieval #alleys of  the #Diocletian #palace at #sunset
.
.
.
#split#croatia#architecture#roman#ancient#whitebalance#stonework#marble#travel#holidays#europe#backpacking #split #waterfalls
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

