08
Jun
10

Two days, Two outfits, One hat.

Dear Readers,

I wore my Hunter wellies the last two days and I have to say I really liked it. Puddles pah! No match for my rubberised feet! I’ve had enough now though… Sunshine please come back!

So the bank holiday was fun, of course. I wore this Trilby a lot. I was surprised by how many outfits it goes with and how it changes an entire look. The hat’s the thing it seems.

I was watching the Buddy Holly story and I remembered this 50’s style, vintage (80’s) tea-dress that I asked my Mum to alter for me. The sleeves came off, there was a big bow in the front and some massive shoulder pads that were hastily removed, and it was about a foot longer originally. It’s thrifted and cost about €8, I added the belt to cinch in the waist to give it a bit more shape.

The bracelet on my left arm is actually a belt that I found in a charity shop. The sunglasses in the first pictures are my “Deirdre Barlows” from Dunnes.

More photos and full outfit details on HerApparel, here and here.

Xx

9 Responses to “Two days, Two outfits, One hat.”


  1. 1 Zoe
    June 9, 2010 at 1:20 am

    I was watching the Buddy Holly Story too! Every time I see a new film I fall in love with that decade.
    Trilby’s are so versatile, I have a man’s one that I got in Berlin but stopped wearing it for a while because Topshop and H&M started stocking them so I felt a bit like a fashion lrmming.
    Crisp white shirt and shorts, can’t beat it! Where’s the shirt from? I want a reasonably priced one to do a diy job on.

  2. June 9, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Wow look at those legs in the first outfit! Jealous!!! Love the wedges too 🙂

  3. 3 Meghan
    June 9, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    Hi there,
    Love what you’re doing with your blog!
    Where did you get the silver rings that you are wearing in these photographs? I love to pile my rings up like that.
    Thanks x

  4. June 10, 2010 at 1:52 am

    Oh I want those shoes! Hats are great on you! I had the misfortune of being born with a head which repels hats. They just look ridiculous!

  5. 5 Kat
    June 10, 2010 at 8:29 am

    your rings are amazing!

  6. June 10, 2010 at 10:39 am

    Awesome legs Ms. Whisty! Love the silver cross pendants.

  7. 7 whisty
    June 10, 2010 at 10:50 am

    Thanks ladies!
    Zoe, yeah this one’s a mans one too! I totes know what you mean, it’s so annoying when you have something special and then the high street does a cheapo accessible version isn’t!? The shirt is H&M BTW!
    Metrochica, & Alex thanks so much! It’s amazing what a couple of days of sunshine can do for your leg confidence… back to jeans now then! And I never take those crosses off Alex!
    Meghan & Kat, the rings! I’m kind of obsessed with getting silver jewellery at the moment. The turquoise ring is from a little jewellers in Temple Bar, Dublin; the armour ring is Erin Wasson from My-wardrobe.com; the skull & rose ring is from Alchemy (all right had) the ring on my left hand is a cheap one from AWear.
    Emma! EEk no. that’s so unfair! Have you tried all different types? I’m sure you have. Boo.

  8. June 16, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    totaly fancy you after this x


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,419,512 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

If the beautiful #architecture at #stmartininthefields isn't enough add a 2000 white #paperdoves #art #installation
.
.
.
#trafalgarsquare #centrallondon #church #michaelpendry#whitesdoves#artinstallation#lescolombes#history#peace#artforpeace #thamesside strolls on warm #summerevenings give good #views .
.
.
#architecture#london🇬🇧#riverthames#towerbridge#history#reflections#sunset#clouds#skies#walkways#bermondseystreet#southlondon#londonbridge #jerkalert This is what you want on a #Sunday a #graffiti #truffleshuffle #chunk from #thegoonies .
.
.
#80s#streetart#movie#gooniesneversaydie#oneeyedwillie#jxc#london#camden#northlondon Dear #car fairy, may I please have a #hotpink #mini?
.
.
.
#vintage#car#minicooper#pink#alloys#britannia#retro#austinmini#gt First time on a #borisbike and hitting the #touristtrail in #London today. .
.
.
#wellingtonarch#hydepark#wellington#centrallondon#britannia#historic#architecture#archway#buckinghampalace#historic We're attempting to add culture to our boozy do. #dublin #ireland🇮🇪 #travelling .
.
.
#baileáthecliath #90s #reflection #art #architecture #university Wishing I could jump in this #fountain today #heatwave .
.
.
#countryhouse #hertfordshire #hatfield #architecture #nature #blueskies #clouds #england #pond #reflection #windows #historic #elizabethi  #palace #queen #spotted in #Airlingus #cara #magazine by @hastings.laura @tomrg103... on their way to #cork... me in #boston ( 📸 @seanfay1981 )
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

