08
Apr
10

Everyone has a little something.

Chères Readers,

I think I might start all my posts like that; it feels  like I’m writing you a letter… and you are my French pen pal.

So, Chères Readers, ça va?

You might know, I’ve a bit of a thing for a bargain, vintage or otherwise. It means I visit Dublin charity shops quite a bit. I was thinking the other day that maybe I should help stock them back up a bit every now and again. All this thrift shopping of late has convinced me to rummage through my wardrobe and do a bit of a sartorial spring clean. I then heard that TK Maxx are doing a big campaign to drive donations to Enable Ireland.

I got in touch with them to find out a bit more about it and they sent me a load of info. ‘Give Up Clothes For Good‘ is meant to encourage people to fill a specially branded Enable Ireland bag with clothes and drop it into TK Maxx. Apparently when they did it last year, they received nearly half a million Euro in clothes and household goodies.

They also sent me a mannequin, (I’ve named her Mavis), and asked me to dress it in some of the clothes I was donating. When I send it back to them, they might put it in the window of one of their shops to help promote the cause. etc. As if you’d say no, right? So here’s ‘Mavis’ in her new gear…

The Firetrap jacket was given to me by a good friend who I know will love that it has been donated rather than it sit in my wardrobe. The scarf (M&S), Dress (Armani Exchange) and necklace (French Connection) are all pieces that I think people might love to find in a charity shop. I also dressed the mannequin in a pair of my favourite skinny jeans from Topshop that don’t fit me any more.

Xx

4 Responses to “Everyone has a little something.”


  1. April 9, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    oh I totally wanna be your french penpal…and I love looking through charity shops but mmm I never seem to have much luck 😦

    • 2 whisty
      April 12, 2010 at 3:30 pm

      Then we HAVE to make a date! Next time you’re in Sunny Dub we’ll do a big old heap of charity shopping! Oh my gosh, it’ll be so much fun!

  2. April 10, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    I really should get my ass in gear and get rid of some of my clothes to a worthy cause! And in french, il faut que je ramasse mes vetements….eh wait, too much effort, my written french is way out of practice!!

    • 4 whisty
      April 12, 2010 at 3:28 pm

      Oh Eimear I know exactly what you mean! I can’t remember a thing! Don’t you think the best thing about spring cleaning is finding a load of pieces you’d forgotten about!? x


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,416,559 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

Welcoming the #firstdayofspring in #northlondon on this pretty magnolia lined #street in #primrosehill .
.
#equinox #springtime #blossom #flowers#streetlamp#gaslight#georgian#archtecture#nature#pink#magnolia#tree Waiting for God-oh? Sitting on the #steps of the #cathedral wearing a #vintage #floral #sundress I bought from @flytheflyvintage in #sliema .
.
.
#laterpost #fashion #style #streetstyle #architecture #arches #doorway #church #history #sandstone #dress #raybans #adidas #shelltoes Off roading on #malta🇲🇹 I adore these side streets
.
.
#architecture#baroque#balcony#bluedoor#door#nature#stone#alleyway#historic#city#pastelshades#travel#travelbug Lost in #baroque
.
.
.
 #malta🇲🇹 #dome #architecture #cathedral #historic #mdina #silentcity #prayers #religious #church #art #marble#travel#travelbug The magical #medieval #walledcity in #malta🇲🇹
.
.
.
 #architecture #arches #baroque #knights #silentcity #mdina #historic #gate #ancient #ancientcity#travel#travelbug Looking up in #malta 🇲🇹
.
.
.
#sandstone #architecture #travel#travelbug #blueskies #arches #carving #city  #history #historic #unesco #knights #baroque #grandmaster Taking photos at #sunset  in #centrallondon by #theshard 
#clearskies #architecture #fashion #skyscrapers #skyline #urban #city #centrallondon #london #shard #southlondon #nightlife #night #skyscrapers #architecture

Click to Like

Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Latest Visitors

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

