31
Mar
10

Shopping Trips and Playsuit Tips

Ah Debenhams, you pearl of North-side shopping goodness. How I so easily forget thee. Two things made me head over there this morning; 1. the size 16 mannequins the company have begun to use this week, which have received copious press coverage and 2. The ridiculously low price-point of the H! by Henry Holland range, which I found so hard to believe. So off I trotted  heading straight for the first floor and the H! collection.

Well it’s not subtle that’s for sure, it’s a massive range of pink and purple neon. From cycling shorts and cropped tees, to denim and leather gillets; from floral dresses to checked bikinis, topped off with pretty good accessories.

I always find that the accessories in high street / designer collaborations leave a lot to be desired. The shoes and totes in particular in this collection are definitely worth a try.

I ended up trying on a really lovely, not too bright and garish romper / playsuit (€54) which I have to admit I can’t believe I actually really liked.

I wasn’t hesitant because of the style or anything, I was purely hesitant because it was a playsuit. Quite frankly, they usually look awful on me. If you haven’t got a perfectly proportioned torso then a well-fitting playsuit, or jumpsuit for that matter, is about as easy to find as a golden fleece. A lot of high street stores compensate the fact that we are not generically sized, by adding a gathered / elasticated waistband. All this usually ends up creating, is a lovely lumpy-looking hip area and a crushing sense of defeat. As I said, not in this case and I think it’s because there is a really fitted section right around the middle (where the print becomes smaller) and makes the whole thing feel more like a dress. Plus the shorts part of the suit is, how shall I put it, quite loose. There is one peril of trying on playsuits that every girl knows about!

Trying this on reminded me of an absolutely gorgeous playsuit that I saw in the window of Maven Boutique on Georges Boutique last week. The romper in question made from ivory silk by New York designer Samantha Pleet and is a bit out of my usual price-range at €280; but with my newly discovered confidence in discovering the right playsuit, I headed over there.

The layers are gorgeous and really unusual, it’s old Hollywood meets Faye Dunaway-glamour meets NYC cool. Amazing. Plus the House of Harlow necklace goes with it perfectly, even the jewellery knows I need it! What’s more, that’s 2 out of 2 or a 100% record in trying on jumpsuits. Niiice. A good day’s window shopping I would say.

8 Responses to “Shopping Trips and Playsuit Tips”


  1. March 31, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    AH…the first playsuit is gorgeous! I haven’t found one that suits me yet..I have a weird shaped body! But it was your shoes that caught my attention…LOVE them!

  2. 2 ams
    March 31, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    loving the House of Harlow necklace!

  3. March 31, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    I have had THE most frustrating search for the perfect playsuit…I saw one I loved in topshop that fitted perfectly but was of breaking-the-bank cost so I looked elsewhere but no such luck 😦 Still, I’m not going to give up! Lovely post!

    Love love love,

    Erin

    xx

  4. April 1, 2010 at 10:56 am

    I like both but I ADORE the first x

  5. April 1, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Oh wow you have renewed by faith in rompers! Those are fab! Your boots are amazing, where are they from!?

  6. 6 whisty
    April 1, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    Ah ladies, how can I thank y’all enough! I don’t know what I’d do without all your lovely comments! They make my flippin day you know!
    So the first, (and cheapest) one is a goer then?! Yipee. I shall go for it.
    @Eimear & Soooali boots are Dorothy Perkins! I posted about them last month (…? possibly) If you search in the side bar there for that shop you should get to the post. If not just holler!
    @ams, me too. It goes with bloomin’ everything! How lucky is that?! 🙂
    @Erin, let us know if you have any success! Good luck! xx

  7. April 2, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    I love Maven boutique but the Debenhams playsuit looked much better, more flattering on you. Just goes to show that you can find reasonably priced clothes. The playsuit isn’t a trend I’d recommend spending a lot on anyway even if you have the money.


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,419,595 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

This place in #whitehall reminds me of a German #castle
.
.
.
#architecture#historic#london#centrallondon#westminster#whitehallgardens#victoriaembankment If the beautiful #architecture at #stmartininthefields isn't enough add a 2000 white #paperdoves #art #installation
.
.
.
#trafalgarsquare #centrallondon #church #michaelpendry#whitesdoves#artinstallation#lescolombes#history#peace#artforpeace #thamesside strolls on warm #summerevenings give good #views .
.
.
#architecture#london🇬🇧#riverthames#towerbridge#history#reflections#sunset#clouds#skies#walkways#bermondseystreet#southlondon#londonbridge #jerkalert This is what you want on a #Sunday a #graffiti #truffleshuffle #chunk from #thegoonies .
.
.
#80s#streetart#movie#gooniesneversaydie#oneeyedwillie#jxc#london#camden#northlondon Dear #car fairy, may I please have a #hotpink #mini?
.
.
.
#vintage#car#minicooper#pink#alloys#britannia#retro#austinmini#gt First time on a #borisbike and hitting the #touristtrail in #London today. .
.
.
#wellingtonarch#hydepark#wellington#centrallondon#britannia#historic#architecture#archway#buckinghampalace#historic We're attempting to add culture to our boozy do. #dublin #ireland🇮🇪 #travelling .
.
.
#baileáthecliath #90s #reflection #art #architecture #university Wishing I could jump in this #fountain today #heatwave .
.
.
#countryhouse #hertfordshire #hatfield #architecture #nature #blueskies #clouds #england #pond #reflection #windows #historic #elizabethi  #palace #queen
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

