18
Mar
10

Spring & Summer wardrobe Inspiration

“The story can resume. I will return. Find you, love you, marry you…”

I watched The Lovely Bones when it was released earlier in the year, and although I really didn’t enjoy the movie at all, I was gob-smacked at Saoirse Ronan’s performance. It immediately made me think that, because I hadn’t seen anything else she’s done, I was missing out on other great performances. Effectively, it meant that I hadn’t seen Atonement either.

So nearly three years after it’s release I finally watched it on Monday. As I suspected I was utterly captivated by Saoirse’s performance and not only that, but the film itself is gorgeous. The country house setting, the humid summer weather, the incredibly posh accents, (including Saoirse’s) the vintage cars, the romanticism of war and the incredible costumes are all served so beautifully by director Joe Wright.

I had no idea what the storyline is before I watched it and so got to experience the, all-too-uncommon cinematic magic of watching it all its twists and turns unfold naturally. (Though, sometimes, if you’re prone to a bit of a blub, you instinctively know with some films that tears are never far away!).

Jacqueline Durran was nominated for an Oscar in 2008 for Best Achievement in Costume Design for the film. I think it is safe to say that Keira Knightley’s character Cecilia has the best wardrobe I’ve ever seen in a movie. It is what I will mostly be craving / channelling it this spring and summer. The feminine floaty, sheer loveliness of it for summer and the beautifully tailored, structured parts of it for spring. I will, however, sadly only dreaming about channelling the Chanel Joaillerie that Keira’s character wears in the movie.

SUMMER

SPRING

The beautiful (and unobtainable) Chanel Jewellery.

Jewellery images via: The Costumer’s Guide to Movie Costumes. Atonement images via: www.Keiraknightley.net and google.

6 Responses to “Spring & Summer wardrobe Inspiration”


  1. March 18, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    I totally agree with you…. The movie is gorgeous and the wardrobe is divine…. I love the all the outfits you chose and will also be doing my best to channel this look….

  2. March 18, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    Oooh I love this film too, the clothes are beautiful!

  3. March 19, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    oh sweet lord i love you…wait did i just type that…

  4. 6 whisty
    March 23, 2010 at 1:48 am

    I must say I felt sooo out of touch that I hadn’t seen this film until now. I’ve watched it twice since, it really is a perfect film. Watching it the second time knowing what was about to happen was even more heart-breaking. (Though I was a little tired and emotional that time too!)


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,419,607 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

This place in #whitehall reminds me of a German #castle
.
.
.
#architecture#historic#london#centrallondon#westminster#whitehallgardens#victoriaembankment If the beautiful #architecture at #stmartininthefields isn't enough add a 2000 white #paperdoves #art #installation
.
.
.
#trafalgarsquare #centrallondon #church #michaelpendry#whitesdoves#artinstallation#lescolombes#history#peace#artforpeace #thamesside strolls on warm #summerevenings give good #views .
.
.
#architecture#london🇬🇧#riverthames#towerbridge#history#reflections#sunset#clouds#skies#walkways#bermondseystreet#southlondon#londonbridge #jerkalert This is what you want on a #Sunday a #graffiti #truffleshuffle #chunk from #thegoonies .
.
.
#80s#streetart#movie#gooniesneversaydie#oneeyedwillie#jxc#london#camden#northlondon Dear #car fairy, may I please have a #hotpink #mini?
.
.
.
#vintage#car#minicooper#pink#alloys#britannia#retro#austinmini#gt First time on a #borisbike and hitting the #touristtrail in #London today. .
.
.
#wellingtonarch#hydepark#wellington#centrallondon#britannia#historic#architecture#archway#buckinghampalace#historic We're attempting to add culture to our boozy do. #dublin #ireland🇮🇪 #travelling .
.
.
#baileáthecliath #90s #reflection #art #architecture #university Wishing I could jump in this #fountain today #heatwave .
.
.
#countryhouse #hertfordshire #hatfield #architecture #nature #blueskies #clouds #england #pond #reflection #windows #historic #elizabethi  #palace #queen
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

