15
Feb
10

Stars in (and all ’round) their Eyes.

or “I was made for loving you, baby…”

I was having a bit of a spring clean-out, of my make-up bag trunk this morning, and found loads of multi-coloured / sparkly shadows, liners and pencils that I’d kind of forgotten I had. While I was doing said Spring-clean I had this weeks Top40 countdown on MTV and realised how much I love the revival of dramatic eye / face make-up in pop music at the moment. Apart from Lady Gaga who is pretty much leading the way when it comes dramatic anything, there are loads of other ladies grabbing the glitter pen too:

Lady Gaga

Lily Allen

Florence Welch

and Ke$ha (above & below).

…are all doing their own awesome versions of dramatic / stage eye make-up. (Love this last picture!)

Not forgetting, either, the men that led the way in the 70’s.

Gene Simmons, KISS

David Bowie, Aladdin Sane Album

… so I thought, I’d have a go at this myself … one subtle (ish), silver and glitter pattern over one eye later and what do you know, I kinda like it.

I’d just prefer something a little darker and more dramatic…

Now we’re talking, Plus I like it so much I have to keep nipping off to the bathroom to have a look, it’s so sparkly! Close-up:

13 Responses to “Stars in (and all ’round) their Eyes.”


  1. February 15, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    Oooh I love these, especially the dark dramatic eye!

  2. February 16, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    So cool, you have to wear it out sometime!!

  3. 3 Jen
    February 16, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Loved your blog. Readers might also be interested in another article I found, about beauty and dry eyes.

  4. February 16, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    So cool! I will have to use my glitter eyeliners I got at Christmas! 🙂
    [along with some other glitter eyeliners I have in my (3) make-up bags…..]

  5. February 16, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    AMAZING!! Definitely going to give this a go sometime!

  6. February 16, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    I love this blog. I remember Alladin Sane and still have the LP. Bowie was so cool at the time and I remember playing this album over and over and over……

  7. February 17, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Eeee can’t wait for the GaGa concert on Saturday!

    And I love your eye make-up! I think the silver one is my favourite, cos it’s a subtle take on the trend!

  8. February 17, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Love it! 🙂 Especially the more dramatic one! I have a houseparty coming up this weekend, so you gave me an idea!!

  9. 11 whisty
    February 18, 2010 at 12:40 am

    Thanks so much for all the lovely comments ladies. I had to stop myself from buying ten more glitter liners to do more looks today!

  10. 12 jenniemc
    February 22, 2010 at 11:57 am

    fair play to you! it looks awesome – did you actually don it outside? i would have muchos respect for someone in a nightclub with those eyes. more dramatic make-up i say.


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,420,945 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

Inside #time. Even with a #fearofheights and #vertigo you still can't keep me from #climbing #towers. #faceyourfears #blackandwhitephotography
.
.
. 
#callypark#callyroad#caledonianroad#caledonianpark#london#northlondon#openhouselondon#clocktower#clockface Hop a speedboat to just off #remote #unspoiled #vis #island arrive at the #bluecave 🚤🏝⛰🇭🇷
.
.
.
#travelling#croatia#backpacking#europe#nature#sea#islandlife#boattrip Taking in the #view of the #island of #biševo from the island of #vis ❤️🇭🇷🌴🌊 .
.
.
#croatia#islandlife#travelling#backpacking#europe#adriaticsea#holiday#sea#rocks Yep. Deffo a #fortress. #hvartown.
Casually draped on a massive #cannon .
.
.
#croatia#travelling#view#ancient#fotress#archirecture#španijola#stinewall#backpacking#islandlife#sea#vis So they have #cocktailbars in 13th century #fortresses here. The #tower juts out over the #sea, perfect for watching the #sunset.
.
.
.
#travelling#europe#backpacking#croatia#walledcity#ancient#architecture#silhouette#island#islandlife So fancy #fortress #towers are a thing on #korcula .
.
.
#medieval#turrets#croatia#walled ity#island#islandlife#adriaticsea#travelling#backpacking#europe#history#architectire #exploring the #medieval #alleys of  the #Diocletian #palace at #sunset
.
.
.
#split#croatia#architecture#roman#ancient#whitebalance#stonework#marble#travel#holidays#europe#backpacking #split #waterfalls
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

