20
Jan
10

Beauty Interview – Irish Independent Online

Wednesday January 20 2010 Independent.ie

Laura Whiston, a writer and fashion and style blogger from Dublin shares her make-up routine with us.

Morning routine?

After cleansing and moisturising, it probably takes about 10 -15 minutes to do my make-up depending on where I’m going. Nights out can take twice that time.

First beauty memories?

When I was eight, much to my Mum’s delight, my sister and I decided to make a concoction with her make-up. I think we’d been reading George’s Marvelous Medicine (by Roald Dahl)at the time and needless to say it was a one-off occasion!

First product ?

Not product exactly but my birthday is on Hallowe’en so it was glittery false eyelashes to go with a fancy dress costume, I’m not sure if I still have them.

What’s your top tip?

You can’t go wrong with the basics so I ALWAYS check for the foundation line between your neck and face. I probably got that from Cosmopolitan magazine when I was still in school but it serves you well, I think there are times in a girls life when she can smudge a bit and get away with it but the foundation line is the measure.

Do you go out without make up?

No, not unless it is an absolute emergency, and I don’t mean a ‘bread and milk’ type emergency. No one need ever see me without slap!

In the bag and on the wish-list?

Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation SPF15  in the bag (EDIT: Lancôme Juicy Tubes lip gloss in Lychee is also in there and something I can’t actually live without in winter) and Creme de la Mer is on the list …

What’s the most you’ve ever spent on a product and why did you buy it?

I’ve never really gone too mad, I always used to buy YSL Faux Cils mascara, it was about €25 and it lasts about a month. As good as it is, I always thought it a bit of an overspend seeing as most mascara lasts about 3 months. I’m casting round for a replacement.

Do you tend to go for bargain buys or are you swayed by the adverts?

I’m a consummate shopper, so I never bargain hunt. I’m always convinced that there is some reason why anything is cheap. I can be swayed by the amount of sales a product has made, like the Max Factor False Lash Effect mascara sold over 1 million so I’ll give that a go defo.

Where do you head for a beauty fix?

Harvey Nichols / Debenhams / House of Fraser. Big departments stores mostly. It’s such an assault on the senses.

Is there a trend you would like to see come into fashion?

I wish the whole 60’s Twiggy drawn on lashes trend would come back in for a season. I’d love to give that a go. I like fashion that’s a bit whimsical.

Who’s vanity case would you snoop in?

Christina Aguilera or Dita von Teese – I would love to see just how many (or how few) products it takes to look so pristine.

A big thanks to the utterly fabulous Sinead Van Kampen of TheSavvyShopper.ie for including me!

6 Responses to “Beauty Interview – Irish Independent Online”


  1. January 20, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    mmm some good tips there x

  2. January 21, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Oooh so cool, congrats!!

    • 4 whisty
      January 21, 2010 at 5:24 pm

      Thanks ever-so much ladies.

      I’m just sorry I didn’t have some huge extravagant over-spending secret to share! Must try harder! x

  3. January 21, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    Ps. If you are still casting round for a replacement mascara, I will have to HIGHLY recommend DiorShow by Dior (obviously;))

  4. January 21, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Miss Sporty always serves me well as a mascara…no joke! It’s the cheapest thing in my make up bag, but the brush is so good! Thanks for all the tips. x


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,419,595 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

This place in #whitehall reminds me of a German #castle
.
.
.
#architecture#historic#london#centrallondon#westminster#whitehallgardens#victoriaembankment If the beautiful #architecture at #stmartininthefields isn't enough add a 2000 white #paperdoves #art #installation
.
.
.
#trafalgarsquare #centrallondon #church #michaelpendry#whitesdoves#artinstallation#lescolombes#history#peace#artforpeace #thamesside strolls on warm #summerevenings give good #views .
.
.
#architecture#london🇬🇧#riverthames#towerbridge#history#reflections#sunset#clouds#skies#walkways#bermondseystreet#southlondon#londonbridge #jerkalert This is what you want on a #Sunday a #graffiti #truffleshuffle #chunk from #thegoonies .
.
.
#80s#streetart#movie#gooniesneversaydie#oneeyedwillie#jxc#london#camden#northlondon Dear #car fairy, may I please have a #hotpink #mini?
.
.
.
#vintage#car#minicooper#pink#alloys#britannia#retro#austinmini#gt First time on a #borisbike and hitting the #touristtrail in #London today. .
.
.
#wellingtonarch#hydepark#wellington#centrallondon#britannia#historic#architecture#archway#buckinghampalace#historic We're attempting to add culture to our boozy do. #dublin #ireland🇮🇪 #travelling .
.
.
#baileáthecliath #90s #reflection #art #architecture #university Wishing I could jump in this #fountain today #heatwave .
.
.
#countryhouse #hertfordshire #hatfield #architecture #nature #blueskies #clouds #england #pond #reflection #windows #historic #elizabethi  #palace #queen
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

