15
Dec
09

Dunnes and Dusted for Cheap Festive Glam

I don’t think I have ever bought a single item of clothing in Dunnes Stores, let alone a party frock. But last month a friend of mine bought a really pretty dress in there for a graduation we both went to. Since then I have been meaning to have a look at what other festive frocks they have, (if any). I had a quick look on their website, which turned out to be hugely disappointing, the styling is really off and it’s all a bit old fashioned. Not only that, looking back they only have a small selection of their collections on-line, which might explain why I had never been to their clothing department in the first place.

Anyway, I went into Dunnes in St. Stephen’s Green Shopping Centre and was met by an onslaught of sequins. In fact it was a bit of over-kill if I’m honest, everything from trousers, jackets and tops, to shoes bags and other accessories but I endured. Parting the sequinned sea, I began to see a few gems hidden amongst the rails, including some great dresses, faux furs and cropped tops. First off I grabbed two lace cropped tops to try on. The one on the right was actually reduced to €3 (but they only had size 14’s left, which worked in a slouchy Topshop kind of way) and the second top with the sequins was €20.

Next, I picked out 4 dresses, a fitted bandage-style one, a Jacquard-type strapless and two with rouched detailing; one black, one nude. The draped / rouched detailing  kind of reminded me of the Burberry Prorsum SS10 collection which didn’t translate well in the nude once I had it one but looked OK in the black (see below). The Jacquard dress fitted fine and I really liked the fabric though is a totally wrong colour for my pale skin!

I liked the effect of the draped rouching on the skirt part of this dress (below), (though the gathering around the tummy area doesn’t look great). I’m also thinking maybe the length could have been shorter and the top half of the dress had one studded shoulder, which I wasn’t keen on. If I did buy it I’d probably cut the top off and wear it as a skirt!

The bandage dress (below) fitted well and I really liked the sheer pieces over the shoulders. The length was longer than the other dresses I’d tried, coming down to just above my knee which created a really nice silhouette.

With my current obsession being fur, I couldn’t resist trying on this faux-fur, leopard pint coat. It’s a good shape and nice length but the sleeves were too short and would annoy me incessantly. Still it’s a bit of a bargain at €30 and is perfect for wearing to a Christmas party with some insanely high heels! I’m thinking cheap Dynasty Chic.

11 Responses to “Dunnes and Dusted for Cheap Festive Glam”


  1. 1 Aimee
    December 15, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    Oh my god I was only admiring some of the stuff in there last week. That jacket looks fairly decent for 30 lids! I’d settle and pay 30 for that than pay 94 for the ridiculously gorgeous one in River Island. Actually I just wish I had 94 euro.
    I got this one with the help of my mam’s discount for 20! Mad about it!

    Loving your posts Laura x

  2. 2 ams
    December 16, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Dunnes have had some great pieces this year. I got a fake leather and satin skirt a few mths ago which Ive worn to death and picked up some weird red floral cropped blouse yoke for €3 yesterday – love the sales! I actually own the bandage dress – it makes me feel quite classy which is weird for a “bandage” style! Agree with you on the glitter front – best avoided!

  3. December 16, 2009 at 11:32 am

    I also have the bandage dress – loving Dunnes’ stuff at the mo, totally cheered up an otherwise glum day the other day. Not loving the leopard coat though, saw a really aul one trying it on and got put off (I’m such a bigot). She looked mad, though.

  4. December 16, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    yeah Dunnes have really upped their game of late, I can’t pop to the Swan Centre for bread without arriving home with something spangly! I got fabulous over the knee black faux suede boots which I absolutely love for just 20euro! also got a great beige dress coat and some cool pumps lately…love that pink ruched dress Laura, good work!x

  5. December 16, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    love the first two tops,and of course the fur..that went without saying

  6. December 17, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Dunnes have some pretty cool gear this year, i tried on that leopard jacket yesterday but decided my heart was moer set on a longer version, it is lovely on though! Some good finds there, well done you!!

  7. December 17, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    I must have those two tops! Great post x

  8. December 19, 2009 at 11:02 am

    dunnes has some great stuff this year, I really want those two tops.

  9. December 19, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    That pale pink dress is gorgeous, I love the draped braided look

  10. December 19, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    I got my dress and shoes in Dunnes for my Christmas party last night:)!! Baby pink, lots of tulle and sequin ankle boots! Cork got a huge new Dunnes recently and they really have improved!!

  11. 11 brii
    February 3, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    hey are you selling the leopard print coat? haha


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,419,493 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

If the beautiful #architecture at #stmartininthefields isn't enough add a 2000 white #paperdoves #art #installation
.
.
.
#trafalgarsquare #centrallondon #church #michaelpendry#whitesdoves#artinstallation#lescolombes#history#peace#artforpeace #thamesside strolls on warm #summerevenings give good #views .
.
.
#architecture#london🇬🇧#riverthames#towerbridge#history#reflections#sunset#clouds#skies#walkways#bermondseystreet#southlondon#londonbridge #jerkalert This is what you want on a #Sunday a #graffiti #truffleshuffle #chunk from #thegoonies .
.
.
#80s#streetart#movie#gooniesneversaydie#oneeyedwillie#jxc#london#camden#northlondon Dear #car fairy, may I please have a #hotpink #mini?
.
.
.
#vintage#car#minicooper#pink#alloys#britannia#retro#austinmini#gt First time on a #borisbike and hitting the #touristtrail in #London today. .
.
.
#wellingtonarch#hydepark#wellington#centrallondon#britannia#historic#architecture#archway#buckinghampalace#historic We're attempting to add culture to our boozy do. #dublin #ireland🇮🇪 #travelling .
.
.
#baileáthecliath #90s #reflection #art #architecture #university Wishing I could jump in this #fountain today #heatwave .
.
.
#countryhouse #hertfordshire #hatfield #architecture #nature #blueskies #clouds #england #pond #reflection #windows #historic #elizabethi  #palace #queen #spotted in #Airlingus #cara #magazine by @hastings.laura @tomrg103... on their way to #cork... me in #boston ( 📸 @seanfay1981 )
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

