26
Nov
09

Christmas Windows and Charity Shopping Part 2 (of 2).

Finally I’ve managed write part 2 of this post from Tuesday. I spent that afternoon exploring the above and I bought an amazing leather / fur jacket from a charity shop in Rathmines. I did um and ah for about two hours before I plumped for it; as you may have read, I am at odds with myself as to whether or not vintage is more acceptable (to my own conciousness). Though the fact that I was buying from a charity shop definitely added to the pro-vintage argument!

So this eve I am taking the long walk over to the O2 Dublin to see the best thing to come out of Sheffield since The Full Monty. The Arctic Monkeys usually give a decent enough performance so I’m sure I’ll be jumping around in my new fur and showing it a good old time. I actually got dressed and ready to go kind of early, which NEVER happens. So I’ve taken a few snaps before I run to, a. save me trying to describe the beige leather & fur combo or the brown press-studs.  And b. to prevent my friends from having any unnecessary heart-attacks from my actually being on time!

More pics here at Her Apparel.

12 Responses to “Christmas Windows and Charity Shopping Part 2 (of 2).”


  1. November 26, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    I love the jacket and I also have some issues over Vintage/Charity/Second Hand..
    I think that the Charity shops are fine because the clothes have been donated. The Charity gets an income so that’s a win/win I don’t like the crop of ‘Swap shops’ that pay measly amounts of money to the sellers and charge ridiculous amounts of money to the public. Hope you enjoyed the Arctic Monkeys!

    • 2 whisty
      November 27, 2009 at 11:08 am

      Thanks ladies.
      Nicky, I never thought about swap shops like that before. It’s very interesting, I’ve never actually been to one and had no idea that shoppers are charged a fortune. I was in a shop in Dublin that re-sells designer only pieces and I was shocked at the prices they were charging for second-hand clothes and even shoes… I was surprised to think that women would pay those prices for second-hand clobber, especially in such a small and image concious city like Dublin. (p.s. Arctic Monkey were super, ta!)
      Debbie, I know what you mean about the eye lashes, I was tres impressed with Kelly Osbourne’s attempt last week, I’m just not sure I’m brave enough… yet! Just gimme time! 🙂

  2. November 26, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    oohh nice find! I miss shopping in dublin 😦 Nice post about covet, shame i missed the sample sale! x

  3. 4 Sarah McNab
    November 26, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    You look amazing! love the look x

  4. 5 Debbie
    November 27, 2009 at 9:57 am

    I love the fur/leather jacket, sparkly top goes together fantastically – very Biba make-up, but Whisty, come on!!!! paint those fabulous eye lashes on for the complete look. I love that you have brought together 2 opposites (60’s and 70’s) and made them not only work, but, your own. Fab Fab Fab

  5. November 27, 2009 at 11:39 am

    You look fabulous! Love the eye make-up. And the jacket was a great find.

  6. November 30, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    love the nonchalant vixen look x

  7. December 3, 2009 at 3:54 am

    i love your jacket
    xx

  8. February 22, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    Great post on frugal fashion. Thought you might be interested in our six frugal fashion tips: http://bit.ly/aDsr0V

    All the best,

    Charlotte


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,420,829 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

Inside #time. Even with a #fearofheights and #vertigo you still can't keep me from #climbing #towers. #faceyourfears #blackandwhitephotography
.
.
. 
#callypark#callyroad#caledonianroad#caledonianpark#london#northlondon#openhouselondon#clocktower#clockface Hop a speedboat to just off #remote #unspoiled #vis #island arrive at the #bluecave 🚤🏝⛰🇭🇷
.
.
.
#travelling#croatia#backpacking#europe#nature#sea#islandlife#boattrip Taking in the #view of the #island of #biševo from the island of #vis ❤️🇭🇷🌴🌊 .
.
.
#croatia#islandlife#travelling#backpacking#europe#adriaticsea#holiday#sea#rocks Yep. Deffo a #fortress. #hvartown.
Casually draped on a massive #cannon .
.
.
#croatia#travelling#view#ancient#fotress#archirecture#španijola#stinewall#backpacking#islandlife#sea#vis So they have #cocktailbars in 13th century #fortresses here. The #tower juts out over the #sea, perfect for watching the #sunset.
.
.
.
#travelling#europe#backpacking#croatia#walledcity#ancient#architecture#silhouette#island#islandlife So fancy #fortress #towers are a thing on #korcula .
.
.
#medieval#turrets#croatia#walled ity#island#islandlife#adriaticsea#travelling#backpacking#europe#history#architectire #exploring the #medieval #alleys of  the #Diocletian #palace at #sunset
.
.
.
#split#croatia#architecture#roman#ancient#whitebalance#stonework#marble#travel#holidays#europe#backpacking #split #waterfalls
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

