05
Nov
09

Accessorising 101

Or Diamond Psychology…

“Remember, you can never have enough hats, shoes or gloves. Cheers, ta, thanks very much…”

Patsy Stone, Absolutely Fabulous BBC1.

Bird Necklace

It’s true you can’t have enough accessories; I have numerous items that fit into each of the above categories as well as belts and scarves too. One thing I have very little of however, is Jewellery. I always say I’m a bit rubbish at accessorising, but what I actually mean is that I’m a bit rubbish at wearing jewellery. I put an outfit together and most of the time I don’t give jewellery a second thought. I have a ring on the middle finger of my left hand, that I can’t actually get off which is why I always wear it, but that’s about it.

I often look for bargain pieces on a charity shop trawl but I very rarely find anything that takes my fancy. I remember telling a friend of my accessory issue a few years ago, a friend incidentally, who always wears fab jewels, and she gave me the best advice ever. She told me that whenever she buys a new top or dress, she picks up a piece of jewellery that she thinks will go with it on her way to the counter to pay. Simple. Obv. I’m not talking about diamonds and rubies and precious metals, I mean the pieces that hang from little bits of card on rotating stands in the middle of high-street stores.

I still can’t get the hang of it, she knows this and, for which I am most grateful, empathises; to the extent that her and another pal of mine bought me the most fab necklace from Accessorize at the weekend. It is an absolutely gorgeous diamanté and pearl swan (see above). I adore it and when I think of it, I want to make a point of wearing it all the time. And herein may lie the problem, I’ve put jewellery on a pedestal instead of in a pretty velvet jewellery box on my dressing table. When I was little I would spend hours going through my Mums jewellery collection, trying on rings and necklaces and hearing the stories of how she came to own each piece. Maybe this is why I see all jewellery as something to be treated as special rather than merely decorative pieces. I am also afraid to death that I may lose something gorgeous that has been gifted to me or handed down etc…

I will say that when I go to something like a black-tie event, I have no problem choosing some silver, diamond or diamanté piece to dress up the posh-frock I’m wearing. I only seem to have trouble when it comes to everyday outfits or night-out outfits. There are hundreds of websites that offer info on how to wear jewellery, but they seem to be a bit overly concerned with thinking too much about it all. I would like to be able to know what necklace would work well with what top or dress without thinking about it. The way I know which shoes go with which trousers and what bag looks great with which coat. I decided than in order to see Jewellery as I do hats, shoes and gloves I am going to invest in a heap of rather delish, cheap and cheerful pieces. Things that I really like but that won’t break my heart if they happen to get lost.

Rose ring and Alice in Wonderland Earrings AccessorizeNB: First stop this afternoon was Claire’s Accessories, where I got my mitts on these Alice in Wonderland, inspired earrings (€5.95), and this goth-inspired black rose ring (€6.95). If you know of any hot spots that do the cheap and cheerful kind of jewellery I’m after, please help.

7 Responses to “Accessorising 101”


  1. 3 White Rabbit
    November 6, 2009 at 10:00 am

    They have great accessories in Fair Trade! And the shop in Temple Bar, Beads and Bling are doing a bunch of evening/all day courses in all kind of jewellery for 50-75 euros! I also learnt how to make headpiece accessories with them and planning to come with a casual headpiece range.

    Love the Alice in Wonderland inspired earrings 🙂 I am constantly hunting accessories as well, the advise your friend gave you is really good.

  2. November 7, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    hmm interesting post Laura..I totally get what you mean about jewellery..I’m like a magpie to buying sparkly pieces yet I tend to go for weeks on end without wearing any of it at all, it really depends on my mood..I have tons and tons of statement earrings and cocktail rings, yet amn’t such a big fan of necklaces or bangles – cos I tend to wear scarves a lot and also after years of waitressing and balancing plates on my arm I always ended up going bare-armed…I’ve only just realised that after you made me consider my own jewellery habits!

    Love your Swan necklace! I think Topshop and Accessorize are my favourite places yet not the cheapest really..

    • 6 whisty
      November 10, 2009 at 12:56 pm

      It’s mad isn’t it.
      I’m defo not a bangles girl. That I can say, I find them kind awkward. If I wear anything on my wrist it has to be super tight. I wear leather cuffs/bands quite often and a watch but they have to not move.
      Thanks for the tips Niamh, Topshop is definitely going to be a place where I pick up a few pieces, but I’m not sure about Accessorize. I always see their collections as too pretty and feminine compared to what I normally wear for some reason?


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,416,559 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

Welcoming the #firstdayofspring in #northlondon on this pretty magnolia lined #street in #primrosehill .
.
#equinox #springtime #blossom #flowers#streetlamp#gaslight#georgian#archtecture#nature#pink#magnolia#tree Waiting for God-oh? Sitting on the #steps of the #cathedral wearing a #vintage #floral #sundress I bought from @flytheflyvintage in #sliema .
.
.
#laterpost #fashion #style #streetstyle #architecture #arches #doorway #church #history #sandstone #dress #raybans #adidas #shelltoes Off roading on #malta🇲🇹 I adore these side streets
.
.
#architecture#baroque#balcony#bluedoor#door#nature#stone#alleyway#historic#city#pastelshades#travel#travelbug Lost in #baroque
.
.
.
 #malta🇲🇹 #dome #architecture #cathedral #historic #mdina #silentcity #prayers #religious #church #art #marble#travel#travelbug The magical #medieval #walledcity in #malta🇲🇹
.
.
.
 #architecture #arches #baroque #knights #silentcity #mdina #historic #gate #ancient #ancientcity#travel#travelbug Looking up in #malta 🇲🇹
.
.
.
#sandstone #architecture #travel#travelbug #blueskies #arches #carving #city  #history #historic #unesco #knights #baroque #grandmaster Taking photos at #sunset  in #centrallondon by #theshard 
#clearskies #architecture #fashion #skyscrapers #skyline #urban #city #centrallondon #london #shard #southlondon #nightlife #night #skyscrapers #architecture

Click to Like

Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Latest Visitors

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

