24
Oct
09

Whisty’s in the Press

I jumped out of my cab this morning and ran over to the Herald stand on O’Connell street, to buy a copy of the Irish Times… I pulled the magazine out from between its pages and turned to page 24! There I was, two photos and 500 words! I am so happy! I was interviewed by the fabulous Rosemary MacCabe a couple of weeks ago along with Blanaid Hennessy and Ana Kinsella of Ripped Knees. Our interviews were featured today, (October 24th).

Irish Times Magazine Feature

I never thought I’d see my name in print on the same page as the words George Clooney!

She Wears it Well

Laura Whiston

whisty.wordpress.com

Laura Whiston started her blog earlier this year and is a full-time blogger. She also has a sister site, where she posts her personal-style photographs: herapparel.wordpress.com

“I started my blog when I was working as a journalist and found there were just so many restrictions – you’re limited to doing editorials that the magazine’s audience is interested in, for example – but there were a thousand other things I wanted to write about, so in a way it was borne out of that frustration.

“I read a lot of blogs and the ones that I really like, aesthetically, all seemed to be doing these ‘what I’m wearing’ posts – I think it really brings that person to life. In a way, it’s a validation of your opinion, seeing the person wearing the styles they’re talking about.

“As well, it can be really inspirational; when people blog about what they’re wearing, it might make you think: ‘Wow, I’d never have thought of doing that’ – something you don’t get from glossy magazines, for example, because they’re catering for an entirely different market.

“Really, the outfit posts are bringing me into the blog – my blog was quite commercial, showing what was new, what was out, not necessarily what I would wear – and I just thought it would make a statement about who I am, and make it a lot more personal.

“I’m always trying to think of ways to make the blog stand out, and this was just another way of doing that. I don’t promote that side of it much but it’s a link from my main blog so it’s like a sideline. Initially it was really nerve-racking and, while I try to post an outfit about once a week, I end up taking an awful lot more photos than that. I’ll take one and wince and go: ‘Oh no, that doesn’t work at all.’ I find that things look totally different in front of the camera to how they look in the mirror, which is frightening.

“I would love to see more people blogging about what they wear – when you walk around Dublin, you see so many amazing girls and guys wearing incredible clothes that I wish were showcased more. Especially because when you think about Dublin fashion, you often just think of tonged hair and fake tan and there’s so much more.

“I try to dress in my own style – I’m kind of a dress and heels kind of girl, very simple, and I’m terrible at accessorising, but I think it could get really contrived if you thought of it in terms of posting your outfits all the time, trying too hard.

“I’ve always been inspired by things you see on the street, more so than by editorial shoots and celebrities, but it’s important to do your own version. It’s always obvious if you’re showing a style that isn’t yours.”

11 Responses to “Whisty’s in the Press”


  1. October 24, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Fantastic write up in the Times. Will be following your blog from now on. Congrats!

  2. 3 White Rabbit
    October 24, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Congratulations!! That is amazing, very good pics of you in the paper and I like your write up about personal style. Well done!

  3. October 24, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Thanks for visiting my site and your comment! It’s so funny hearing what people think of Olivia Palermo 🙂 I saw your write-up in the Times this evening! Lucky u, what a great opportunity for you! Keep up the good work!(“,)
    SequinsandBangles xx

    http://sequinsandbangles.blogspot.com

    • 6 whisty
      October 25, 2009 at 2:02 pm

      It was my pleasure, I just had to comment, I love the way she looks, but I wouldn’t ever ask to borrow her clothes, put it that way! xxx

  4. October 25, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Congratulations! Its a great article. 🙂

  5. October 26, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Great write-up! You should be very proud:)!
    Gonna add you to my blog list:)!

    Cathy
    thestylestrutter.blogspot.com
    x

  6. October 27, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Congrats congrats, i saw it on Sunday alright, great work!!


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,423,952 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

I love grabbing the #bench on #parliamenthill and soaking up this view of my #hometown .
.
.
#london#northlondon#hampsteadheath#nature#cityscape#skyscrapers#fashion#style#streetstyle An #icon.
.
.
.
#blondie#debbieharry#brixton#uktour#music#punk#atomic Stunning #architecture and #reflections in #Valencia .
.
.
#greyscale#SantiagoCalatrava#FélixCandela#modernism#travelling#europe #autumnal days in my #granmother’s #mac, kicking up the #fallenleaves .
.
.
#autumn🍁#london#seasons#northlondon#streetstyle#vintage#heels#boots#blondehair#fashion#style#macintosh When you suddenly find yourself in the #1940s in #centrallondon - then you realise it's just a #filmset .
.
.
#1940sfashion#1940shair#WWII#redbus#architecture#themovies#film#makedoandmend#keepcalm#christopherrobin#onlocation#bankofengland#thecity#extras Just working out how to post a #panorama wish I was still #travelling around #croatia 🇭🇷 .
.
.
#vis#island#islandlife#backpacking#sea#beach#sunset#europe Outside inside #time. #lookingup at the #clocktower in #callypark .
.
.
#london#northlondon#openhouselondon2017#architecture#victorian#tower Inside #time. Even with a #fearofheights and #vertigo you still can't keep me from #climbing #towers. #faceyourfears #blackandwhitephotography
.
.
. 
#callypark#callyroad#caledonianroad#caledonianpark#london#northlondon#openhouselondon#clocktower#clockface
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

