05
Oct
09

Get layerd up in Plaid for Autumn

What I Wore October 4th 3So it’s Autumn, hooray! I love this time of year, especially October, and here is why:

1. Low, bright sunshine, today is no exception

2. The trees are all golden and orange and yellow

3. Layers rock

4. It’s chilly enough to wear tights so no more unsightly fake tan streaks

5. Halloween

Speaking of layers, I’ve jumped on the glamour / grunge bandwagon for the time being. You know, the trend that has revamped the mid-90’s music-inspired way of dressing with some added luxe elements; think, wearing plaid shirts teamed with sequins and smokey eye make-up while listening to Nirvana. Some stores / magazines have combined the two elements by calling it Glunge, which is a horrible word but you get the idea.

With this in mind I found the perfect plaid shirt (€35) in River Island on Saturday, I wanted to buy one that was slightly over-sized so I can wear it in different ways, either in the true grunge way on top of all the other things I wear or cinched in at the waist with a skinny belt. I chose green, which surprised me, I was thinking I would go for red before I shopped, but the fabulous sales assistant in River Island on Grafton Street, helped me out and showed me the green one which I loved immediately! I teamed it with some sheer tights, my trusty buckled ankle boots, a short skirt and messy hair, see here.

elle macpherson Taylor Momsen plaid shirtIf the real grunge look isn’t your thing, take a tip from Elle Macpherson, she’s rocking the trend without rocking out, keeping her plaid shirt fitted and the other elements of her look, smarter, sleeker and more grown-up. If, on the other hand you love the real ethos of grunge them Taylor Momsen’s look is probably the one to channel, just don’t tell Courtney Love or maybe do…? If you can work that out, good luck!

1. Low, bright sunshine, today is no exception

2. The trees are all golden and orange and yellow

3. Layers rock

4. It’s chilly enough to wear tights so no more unsightly fake tan streaks

5. Halloween

9 Responses to “Get layerd up in Plaid for Autumn”


  1. October 5, 2009 at 11:15 am

    I’ve been considering buying a plaid shirt for a while and I’m just a bit nervous about whether I can carry it off! But I really like it on you, and the way you’ve styled it is perfect.:)

    • 2 whisty
      October 5, 2009 at 11:34 am

      Thanks so much! I hope it inspires you, they are the comfiest thing in the world! Let me know if you decide to go for it! x

  2. 3 White Rabbit
    October 5, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Love the plaid shirts, have one from Penneys :))

    Autumn is great when it is not raining, the crisp air, the colours, one of the most inspiring seasons!

    • 4 whisty
      October 5, 2009 at 4:43 pm

      It’s so fabulous isn’t it! I just can’t think of a more perfect time of year! I saw the ones in Penney’s (Primark) did you go with red or grey?

  3. October 5, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    That’s so freaky I just bought a similar one today! Dunnes stores have great ones as well, kind of plaid shirt dresses got a nice blueish one a while back as well for just 12euro..

    • 6 whisty
      October 5, 2009 at 4:45 pm

      Utter madness, what colour did you get today? I must drop into Dunnes more often, I usually end up looking in through the windows for some odd reason…

  4. 7 White Rabbit
    October 5, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    It is the grey, the red reminds my of my fashion taste when I was 16..not pretty..


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,419,489 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

If the beautiful #architecture at #stmartininthefields isn't enough add a 2000 white #paperdoves #art #installation
.
.
.
#trafalgarsquare #centrallondon #church #michaelpendry#whitesdoves#artinstallation#lescolombes#history#peace#artforpeace #thamesside strolls on warm #summerevenings give good #views .
.
.
#architecture#london🇬🇧#riverthames#towerbridge#history#reflections#sunset#clouds#skies#walkways#bermondseystreet#southlondon#londonbridge #jerkalert This is what you want on a #Sunday a #graffiti #truffleshuffle #chunk from #thegoonies .
.
.
#80s#streetart#movie#gooniesneversaydie#oneeyedwillie#jxc#london#camden#northlondon Dear #car fairy, may I please have a #hotpink #mini?
.
.
.
#vintage#car#minicooper#pink#alloys#britannia#retro#austinmini#gt First time on a #borisbike and hitting the #touristtrail in #London today. .
.
.
#wellingtonarch#hydepark#wellington#centrallondon#britannia#historic#architecture#archway#buckinghampalace#historic We're attempting to add culture to our boozy do. #dublin #ireland🇮🇪 #travelling .
.
.
#baileáthecliath #90s #reflection #art #architecture #university Wishing I could jump in this #fountain today #heatwave .
.
.
#countryhouse #hertfordshire #hatfield #architecture #nature #blueskies #clouds #england #pond #reflection #windows #historic #elizabethi  #palace #queen #spotted in #Airlingus #cara #magazine by @hastings.laura @tomrg103... on their way to #cork... me in #boston ( 📸 @seanfay1981 )
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

Latest Visitors

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

