30
Sep
09

Rocking in Socks (and Sandals).

What I Wore Sept 30thI bought a fab pair of studded, black-suede platform sandals (€21) from Penney’s and at the same time I bought some plain white ankle socks… so I put them on together a la Burberry Prorsum SS10.

For as long as I can remember wearing socks with sandals was about as unfashionable as it gets. Way before bubble perms or shellsuits, before wearing fur or nylon trousers became passé, the only people who wore socks avec sandals, (is it weird that I keep typing SADals?) were Religion teachers and retired old men who now live on the Costa Del Sol.

Well today they seemed to me, like a pretty on-trend gang that I wanted to be a part of. I teamed my snazzy new foot rig-out with a vintage Jeff Banks dress from the late 60’s and gave it a whirl… I really like the look, the socks dress down the seriously fierce heels, making them totally wearable for daytime. They make the look softer and more feminine and therefore ultimately more flattering. I think the look also works so well because the sandals have quite high ankle straps, it wouldn’t work as well if the straps were lower down; the higher straps are needed to break up the block colour of the socks. The best part is that they are so comfy and for me, that alone is enough of a reason to advocate this quirky look.

6 Responses to “Rocking in Socks (and Sandals).”


  1. October 1, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    my friends sniggered at me when i did this a few weeks ago,and it was only a case of socks with ankle boots…but its growing on them!

    • 2 whisty
      October 1, 2009 at 12:41 pm

      It’s so weird, I know for sure that people were staring yesterday… I think it’s just a bit of a shock. My friend actually turned round and said, “Oh God, don’t tell me that is in now”… Brilliant! I double dare you to do it with (fierce) sandals and see what your friends say! xxx

  2. 3 Ed
    October 1, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    Heck yeah! Anything the fashion gods say should never be done is exactly what should be done, in my opinion. Be unique. Be yourself. Be comfortable. Besides, socks always look great no matter what kind of shoes. They make a woman’s legs look better. Another fashion no no is socks with capris. I love that look! Kind of frames the lower leg and emphasizes the calves. So keep wearing socks!!! and when you also wear long pants, roll them up to expose a little leg. Beautiful tease for a legman! You dont even have to have nice legs. The imagination fills in the rest. So to the observer, your legs are awesome, just based on those few inches of exposed leg! pass it on! Have a great day

  3. October 3, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    I thought of Burberry ss10 when I saw the picture.
    I’ve never heard of Penney’s but I love those shoes, and the way you’ve put the fierce footwear with the soft socks. 🙂 Lovely.

    Florrie x

    • 5 whisty
      October 3, 2009 at 1:52 pm

      Thanks so much Florrie! I’m delighted you got what that I was channelling Burberry, I was blown away by the whole show and this was the most immediate way of getting the look!
      p.s. Penney’s is Primark, it’s just got a different name in Ireland! (I must remember to add both names on future blogs!)

  4. 6 stacy
    January 2, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    I think white socks with sandals is an
    adorable look.I wear white anklets all the time.


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,416,748 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

Loved this little #countryside scene in the #peakdistrict #derbyshire... It reminds me of #lilliput.
.
.
.
#nature#archtecture#village #trees#church#sandstone#cottages#peakdistrictnationalpark Welcoming the #firstdayofspring in #northlondon on this pretty magnolia lined #street in #primrosehill .
.
#equinox #springtime #blossom #flowers#streetlamp#gaslight#georgian#archtecture#nature#pink#magnolia#tree Waiting for God-oh? Sitting on the #steps of the #cathedral wearing a #vintage #floral #sundress I bought from @flytheflyvintage in #sliema .
.
.
#laterpost #fashion #style #streetstyle #architecture #arches #doorway #church #history #sandstone #dress #raybans #adidas #shelltoes Off roading on #malta🇲🇹 I adore these side streets
.
.
#architecture#baroque#balcony#bluedoor#door#nature#stone#alleyway#historic#city#pastelshades#travel#travelbug Lost in #baroque
.
.
.
 #malta🇲🇹 #dome #architecture #cathedral #historic #mdina #silentcity #prayers #religious #church #art #marble#travel#travelbug The magical #medieval #walledcity in #malta🇲🇹
.
.
.
 #architecture #arches #baroque #knights #silentcity #mdina #historic #gate #ancient #ancientcity#travel#travelbug Looking up in #malta 🇲🇹
.
.
.
#sandstone #architecture #travel#travelbug #blueskies #arches #carving #city  #history #historic #unesco #knights #baroque #grandmaster Taking photos at #sunset  in #centrallondon by #theshard 
#clearskies #architecture #fashion #skyscrapers #skyline #urban #city

Click to Like

Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

Follow Whisty on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Latest Visitors

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

