30
Jul
09

Little Boots in Metro Free-paper

Yesterday morning, bleary eyed, I was wondering along O’Connell street and was handed a copy of the Metro. Flicking through I saw that it featured an interview, introducing pretty pop pixie, Little Boots to all those who are yet to discover the Blackpool lass’s talents. She discussed both her music passions and fashion obsessions and listed five of her favourite things. At 25 she is proving to be quite the little fashion darling; the head of design at Oasis last week told me that he was totally inspired by her style and that the Oasis design team were “loving Little Boots at the moment”. Anyway here is the interview and a rundown of everything you need to know about Little Boots:

Little Boots

Little Boots, big on fashion: Little Boots gives the lowdown on her unique style

With size- three feet it’s easy to see how Little Boots got her nickname but there’s nothing ‘little’ about this electro-pop princess: she was voted BBC’s Sound of 2009 before he’d even released her first album. At 25, Little Boots (real name Victoria Hesketh) is originally from Blackpool, England. She learned to play the piano at the age of five, won a scholarship to a local music school where she studied flute and harp, and by the age of 13 was writing her own songs. ‘I don’t know where I get my talent from. Mum writes children’s books and dad’s tone deaf,’ she laughs. At university, she formed Dead Disco with some friends but that wasn’t enough to satisfy her song writing skills so she quit and went home to start work on her solo album, Hands, which was released in June. Victoria’s trademark is her Tenorion, a handheld gadget that mixes flashing LED lights with sound – kind of like a flashing music box. ‘It’s a very innovative, visual way to make music’ she explains. ‘I’m trying to get away from the myth that pop music comes out of a machine with a man behind it and a girl in a sparkly dress just sings it. I’m totally involved in every aspect of my music’.

Continue reading the interview…

Victoria has good reason to be confident both on stage and off. Her style is another hit with her fans. ‘I love getting dressed up’, she enthuses. ‘But I’m not interested in fashion itself, just the visual side of clothes. When you’re a musician, it’s an expression of your music so I try and dress for my music.’ Describing her style as ‘quite futuristic’, she loves anything with big shoulders. ‘My style is kind of 1970s disco mixed with a futuristic feel,’ she says. ‘My style onstage is just an extension of my style in real life. It’s not like I turn into someone else when offstage.’ But she wasn’t always the style icon we see today. ‘I’ve had my fair share of fashion disasters. In the 1990s, I was in a punk band and thought I was a female Jamiroquai with my big leopard-print hat and cow-print jacket. My only saving grace was that I didn’t wear them together.’ Victoria’s admits she’s ‘bored with vintage’ but likes up-and-coming designers. ‘I love Antipodium, Felder Felder, Poltock &Walsh.’Yet despite all her fashion credentials, she stands firm that Blackpool is the best place for a charity shop bargain. ‘I’ve got a Tshirt for about £1.50 before. The charity shops up north are brilliant.’ Little Boots’ album, Hands, is out now. www.littlebootsmusic.co.uk BY VICKI-MARIE COSSAR Metro Daily.

Little Boots’ Favourite Things

1. Roland SH101 keyboard: This makes really cool noises. They come in different colours but the blue ones are really rare. It’s vintage and I think it came out in the 1980s.

2. Necklace: I never take this necklace off. My boyfriend designed it and had it made especially for me for Christmas. We’re apart a lot so whenever I go away I now have a little piece of him.

3. Dogs: My childhood pets still live with my parents in Blackpool. I miss them so much. One is a Bichon Fries called Candy and one is a Border Collie called Charlie. They’re a real comedy duo. Like Dumb and Dumber.

4. Alexander McQueen handbag: This is the most expensive thing I’ve ever bought. When I got my publishing deal, I said I was going to treat myself to an ‘it’ bag as I’ve never had one. It makes me feel like a million dollars.

5. Kate Bush’s Lionheart album: When I was about 20, I was a Kate Bush fan. I didn’t really know her when she was recording, so I just bought every vinyl of hers I could find in a charity shop in York. Her Lionheart album is my favourite. It’s so old now it’s probably worn out.


Little Boots, big on fashion

With size- three feet it’s easy to see howLittle Boots got her nickname but there’s nothing ‘little’ about this electro-pop princess: she was voted BBC’s Sound of 2009 before he’d even released her first album. At 25, Little Boots (real name Victoria Hesketh) is originally from Blackpool, England. She learned to play the piano at the age of five, won a scholarship to a local music school where she studied flute and harp, and by the age of 13 was writing her own songs. ‘I don’t know where I get my talent from. Mum writes children’s books and dad’s tone deaf,’ she laughs. At university, she formed Dead Disco with some friends but that wasn’t enough to satisfy her song writing skills so she quit and went home to start work on her solo album, Hands, which was released in June. Victoria’s trademark is her Tenorion, a handheld gadget that mixes flashing LED lights with sound – kind of like a flashing music box. ‘It’s a very innovative, visual way to make music’ she explains. ‘I’m trying to get away from the myth that pop music comes out of a machine with a man behind it and a girl in a sparkly dress just sings it. I’m totally involved in every aspect of my music’.

2 Responses to “Little Boots in Metro Free-paper”


  1. July 31, 2009 at 10:15 am

    haha, crazy cool artwork/pic 😄


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,418,234 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

A little #neoclassical #architecture for a #sunnyafternoon in #southwestlondon .
.
.
#countryhouse#chiswick#blueskies#columns#pillars#classical#statelyhome#countryretreat#travelling Such #splendour with #neoclassical #symmetry and #fluffyclouds in #Chiswick
.
.
.
#statelyhome#countryestate#pillars#columns#blueskies#nature#southwestlondon#london While #puntingincambridge on the #rivercam we went #travelling under the #bridgeofsighs .
.
.
#cambridge#river#travel#punting#university#college#stjohnscollege#architecture#bridge#arches#windows#greyskies#england#cambridgeshire #limestone #wysteria and rows of #bicycles #Cambridge is so pretty
.
.
.
#travel#england#architecture#sidneysussexcollege#cycling#baskets#university#college Dramatic #skies to match the #architecture in #Cambridge today
.
.
.
#england #staycation #travels #travelling #university #college #church #tower #redpostbox #bicycles Last night at #Barbican after watching #Obsession there may have been a little #dancinginthestreet in #bcbgmaxazria #shoes .
.
.
#nightlife#architecture#cityscape#skyscrapers#streetstyle#style#fashion#dancing#urban#viviennewestwood#scarf#centrallondon#nightlife#lightbeam Love this fella! Loved going out #celebrating your #18thbirthday in #nottingham last weekend @jackmonaghan13 .
.
.
#famtime #happy18thbirthday #cousins #marketsquare #notts #leopardprint #streetstyle #fauxfur #crombie #fashion #pinkhair #laterpost #thisguytho The #bustlingcrowds and #tallships make #Greenwich a #beautiful #destination on #sunnydays
.
.
.
#historic#maritime#london#southlondon#cuttysark#thames#river#spring#blueskies#clouds#contrails
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Latest Visitors

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

