30
Mar
09

Nailed It!

When I first heard about Nail Bar‘s everlasting manicure, I was a little skeptical. I had always avoided the gel overlays, as I had had such dreadful experiences with gel tips. Although the manufacturers always claimed that gel tips allowed your own nails to grow, my nails always ended up in terrible condition after various tips had pinged off whilst driving, typing or when merely out for a stroll! I was reassured that Nail Bar’s tips were different and that a gel overlay was like an extra-hard nail varnish that doesn’t chip or flake and can last for up to a month. Intrigued by this, I entered Nail Bar on Trinity Street…

and was met by the lovely Ilona, who would be doing my nails. I opted for a French manicure (65). Ilona recommended that I chose the slightly pinker shade for the main part of my nails and a small white tip for the most natural look. I’m not a huge fan of WAG style false nails, so this sounded perfect.

Ilona started with a full manicure, soaking, massaging, filing, shaping and finally trimming my cuticles so that my nails were in good condition before she really got to work. The manicure was really relaxing, it took a short while but I was happy watching episodes ofSATC on the TV in front of me or people watching through the salon window as the rain stopped and started outside. Next, Ilona started the nail prep. My nails were given a jolly good work out, buffed and bonded, and then she softened my skin around the nails and started with the little gel pots. I saw that her own nails were long and purple with glittery tips – they were amazing and proof that the raft of treatments that my own nails were being subjected to had no effect effects. A couple of coats of the pink gel were applied and after each application the nail was put under a UV light. There was a slight tingly feeling thatIlona explained was the gel bonding to my nail. So, the manicure really wasn’t coming off anytime soon; interesting.

The thin white tips were then applied perfectly, with a white gel, of course, and the top coat was applied to give the nails an ultra shiny look to finish them off. My hands were then left under the UV lamp to set and dry. The whole process, including manicure, application and drying time (about 10 minutes) took two hours and it flew by.Ilona explained everything that she was doing, and the other ladies in the salon chatted happily as we giggled at the TV. What’s more, the end result was fabulous. The gel can’t be applied right up to the cuticle so there was a tiny gap, which didn’t matter as the colour applied matched my nail tone perfectly.

It’s now three and a half weeks later and my nails are all still on, still shiny and still completely white tipped. There is the tiniest chip on the very edge of the white tip on my left hand middle finger but that’s it and I can’t believe it. It is fantastic, and this despite the fact that there have been a couple of hurdles that I know false tips would not have been able to survive. I trapped that right-hand index finder in a door, for example, and although there may be a tiny bruise under there, the nail is still clinging on for dear life! I think I may have turned a beauty page here – my nails are frequently frowned upon by my more polished girlfriends. They’re often different lengths, you see, they’re always chipped and they’re never, ever French manicured. One friend, who shall remain nameless, even suggested I leave my gloves on when we were meeting her work pals in a bar one evening. So you can imagine the shock and horror when they saw my new mitts over a glass of Guinness in town… (The black stuff really showed off the white tips, by the way). The gloves were off, so to speak. Unfortunately, the time has come for me to move house! Uh oh, goodbye everlasting nails amid a flurry of dust and rediscovered socks… It seems that nice nails and manual labour do not go hand in hand. Who cares, though? As a treat for all that lifting and packing, I’m going back to have those fabulous nails redone this weekend – that’s a whole busy, nail-unfriendly month after the first time!

The Nail Bar is on Trinity Street, D2. 01 670 8592

Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,418,173 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,412 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

Such #splendour with #neoclassical #symmetry and #fluffyclouds in #Chiswick
.
.
.
#statelyhome#countryestate#pillars#columns#blueskies#nature#southwestlondon#london While #puntingincambridge on the #rivercam we went #travelling under the #bridgeofsighs .
.
.
#cambridge#river#travel#punting#university#college#stjohnscollege#architecture#bridge#arches#windows#greyskies#england#cambridgeshire #limestone #wysteria and rows of #bicycles #Cambridge is so pretty
.
.
.
#travel#england#architecture#sidneysussexcollege#cycling#baskets#university#college Dramatic #skies to match the #architecture in #Cambridge today
.
.
.
#england #staycation #travels #travelling #university #college #church #tower #redpostbox #bicycles Last night at #Barbican after watching #Obsession there may have been a little #dancinginthestreet in #bcbgmaxazria #shoes .
.
.
#nightlife#architecture#cityscape#skyscrapers#streetstyle#style#fashion#dancing#urban#viviennewestwood#scarf#centrallondon#nightlife#lightbeam Love this fella! Loved going out #celebrating your #18thbirthday in #nottingham last weekend @jackmonaghan13 .
.
.
#famtime #happy18thbirthday #cousins #marketsquare #notts #leopardprint #streetstyle #fauxfur #crombie #fashion #pinkhair #laterpost #thisguytho The #bustlingcrowds and #tallships make #Greenwich a #beautiful #destination on #sunnydays
.
.
.
#historic#maritime#london#southlondon#cuttysark#thames#river#spring#blueskies#clouds#contrails Drama #sunset in #nottingham I love how it reflects #colour onto the #neoclassical #theatreroyal .
.
#cityscape #city #eastmids #notts #clouds #architecture #theatre #pink #blue #sky
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Latest Visitors

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

