25
Aug
11

A style consultation with Brendan Courtney

Hey All,

Last Saturday I went to a jeans fitting session in the Jervis Shopping Centre, Dublin. I’ve never been to style consultant, I’m pretty confident that I know what does and doesn’t suit me, purely through trial and error. Still, there is always a small notion that you could be missing something fabulous that you’ve never tried before.

I met Brendan Courtney at 3pm, and I knew that if I learned anything that afternoon, it was that he is a genuinely sound bloke. I left myself in his hands as he showed me my personal do’s and don’ts of wearing jeans.

Firstly, what not to do… never wear high-waisted light-wash jeans. See image below, (photo on left…) Because I have a short torso in relation to my legs, this style of jean basically made me look ridiculous. Brendan Courtney‘s advice was that instead of accentuating my waist, these jeans hid it. So if I did want to go high waisted, the only way to do it was to go extreme and try a pair that incorporates a wasp waist.

I then tried a pair of dark wash skinnies; simple, chic, classic, a jean for every day. I loved the colour…

Left: High Waisted Topshop Jeans… “Oh that’s where my waist went’. Right: mid-rise, ONLY skinny jeans give me a better leg to torso ratio.

…and skinnies are fine, but I wanted to push the boundaries, try something new. Brendan then suggested I try a light-wash stretch Topshop denim flare.

They fitted great, (I like my jeans to be tight-ish). But when Brendan took a quick snap of me and we reviewed the photo…well, our faces in the shot below speak volumes.

Literally, without a second thought, he went to back to Topshop and returned with the same jean in a dark-blue wash…

…”They’re a bit Scooby-Doo, totally on-trend 70′s and kinda freaky, I love them”, we’re the words he left me with; I have to say I’m inclined to agree.

A massive thanks to Mr. Courtney for his patience and for sharing all that knowledge with me.

As part of the Fashion Movement, the ‘Jean-ius Jeans’ style station is a FREE JEANS FITTING SERVICE, running every Saturday and Sunday until 10th September, at the old Waterstones store, Jervis Shopping Centre, Henry Street, Dublin 2.

Also a big auld thanks to Fafs for taking the snaps.

Yours,

Whisty Xx

5 Responses to “A style consultation with Brendan Courtney”


  1. August 25, 2011 at 9:03 am

    aah, what a great service! I pratically live in the Tall Topshop range as I have really long legs, I mean today I’m wearing my a|wear skinny boyfriend jeans and the length is… let’s just say shorter than normal!!! :p

    and, I think I have those Topshop jeans? (I own two of the Jessie Jeans, both in different colours though!!)

    Jules

  2. September 6, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    That sounded like a really fun day.
    Ooh please pass on all the new denim rules you learned. :-)

    Franzi
    xx

    http://franzistylenomad.com

    • September 12, 2011 at 1:28 pm

      Top tips for buying badass denims:
      1. Start with a little stretch; try finding denim with a little give
      2. Avoid bootcut; use a wide leg to balance the hip
      3. Try a skinny jean! They make every leg look slimmer. You’ll be amazed. Start with a jegging to break you in and remember, it’s all about what you wear on top
      4. Back pocket size: big on small bum, small on a big bum
      5. The perfect indigo colour is always the best place to start and is much easier to smarten up
      *One final word of caution from Brendan, “Over 35s avoid stone washed, you’ll risk entering the land of trying a little too hard…population: YOU!!”

  3. September 29, 2011 at 11:25 am

    Amazing article, thanks for putting this collectively! “This is obviously one huge post. Thanks for the priceless information and insights you have so provided here. Keep it up!”


Let us know what you think in the box below!

Shop Once Removed Vintage

Who Was Here?

  • 2,326,310 hits

Subscribe to Whisty’s Blog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,410 other followers

Follow Whisy in Instagram

Larking about in London! singing in the rain... #redbus #London #rain #umbrella #tweed #fashion #smiles Just walking home... #bridesinthebath #london #gardens #bathing #mannequin #realnotreal #beingblonde #hair #sunday #love #London #westhampstead A different perspective. #london #track #train #architecture #blueskies #pub #bridge #sunday #service #church #chapel #alter Every mining this week I've been in too much of a rush to take a pic of these lovely daffs in the morning sun... Must be a pun there about stopping to smell the roses... #London #morning #sunrise #spring #sunshine #flowers #trees #rays #daffodils A perfect family project... Shade found by me antique crystal base from Mum and wired- up by wonderful Uncle Mike! Perfect lighting. #antique #lights #vintage #homestyle  #decor #atmosphere #happy #london #London #sunshine #Admiral'sHouse #MaryPoppins
Follow whistyblogs on Twitter

LaWhisty on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Latest Visitors

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Categories

Stats 01/06/11 – Now

wordpress visitors

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,410 other followers

